NSW Speedway Karts - Round 3

press release

It was another GREAT 2008 Sunday when the New South Wales Speedway Kart Club returned to the superb Nepean Motorsport complex last Sunday for round 3, the G Force Racewear Nepean Open meeting.

There were 84 karts nominated for the G Force Racewear Nepean Open as the NSWSKC meeting’s continues to grow.

With 18 Clubman Heavy division karts on hand the class was broken up into two with all three heat victories in the first group going to Anthony Selmes with the feature bring taken out by Scott Isbister. In the second group, the heats were won by Daniel Selmes and Wayne Baines (2 victories) while Steven Mitchell took the feature win.

It was a great line up in the Rookies with 12 karts nominated but it was young Nikki Briton continuing the Briton name in speedway taking out the first heat. Other heat wins were taken out by Daniel Sayre and Regan Angel with Daniel Sayre also winning the feature.

Anthony Selmes started the day out in the KT Open Heavy by winning heat 1 while Tim Beattie dominated the next two heats taking the wins with Anthony Selmes bouncing back in winning the feature race.

It was another great 10 kart field in the Midget ranks with heats going to Luke Sayre, Andrew Beattie and Kyle Angel with Luke Sayre taking out his second victory after winning the feature.

The premier division racing last Sunday was the Formula 100 with Jonathan Bright, Craig Banks and David Hopping sharing the heat wins while Jason Freer winning the feature.

Another strong field was on hand for the KT Open Light division while Luke Tourish scored the win in the feature, the heats were shared by Alana Baines (2 wins) and Nathan Randell.

The Juniors are certainly building up numbers with 13 nominating for the meeting. The three heat races were won by Bronson Butcher and Michael Jordon with two wins. Showing sensational form, Cassie Ralph took out the feature race.

 The heat race winners in the 10 strong Clubman Light field saw Greg Coghlan and Matt Tourish (2 wins) scoring heat victories while the feature was taken out by Greg Coghlan.

Above: KT Open winners (pic - Stillshots)

Round winners and major place getters on the day were:

Midgets: Walkabout Lodge
1st  Luke Sayer
2nd Kyle Angel
3rd Andrew Beattie
Feature Winner: Luke Sayre

Rookies: Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway
1st Daniel Sayre
2nd Regan Angel
3rd Sean Richards
 Feature Winner: Daniel Sayre

KT Open Light: Hoppings Mowers
1st Brad Cunneen
2nd Alana Baines
3rd Nathan Randell
Feature Winner: Luke Tourish

Clubman Heavy: Angel’s Roofing Accessories
1st Wayne Baines
2nd Cameron Coghlan
3rd Anthony Selmes
Feature Winners: (1) Scott Isbister
                         (2) Steven Mitchell

KT Open Heavy: Graham’s Painting Services
1st Luke Storey
2nd Chris Troy
3rd  Craig Banks
Feature Winner: Anthony Selmes

Formula 100: Keats Racing/Karting World
1st  David Hopping
2nd  Jason Freer
3rd  Jonathan Bright
Feature Winner: Jason Freer

Juniors: G-Force Racewear
1st Michael Jordon
2nd Chris Deighton
3rd Bronson Butcher
Feature Winner: Cassie Ralph

Other winners on the day were:

  • Amy Shute (On Track Automotive  Award)
  • Luke Sayre (Speedsports Media Achievement Award)
  •  John Spalding (Motorex Award )

It’s pleasing to see many drivers, families, crew and fans staying back for the after meeting presentation and like the racing nominations, numbers are growing at each and every meeting.

The NSWSKC returns to the Nepean Motorsports complex on Sunday April 27th for the annual Celebration Day meeting. The Nepean Raceway is situated on Rickards Road Castlereagh with racing starting at 10am.


© kartsportnews.com