CIK Series News

AKA press release

The 2008 Australian CIK Karting Championship will now incorporate five rounds, including one to be held in conjunction with the New South Wales State Championships at Port Macquarie.

Originally slated for to kick off on May 3/4 at Ipswich in Queensland, the series will now begin at Newcastle on the weekend of June 14/15 before heading to Ipswich during July.

There are currently 10 teams who have confirmed their interest to contest the five-round series, while a number of these teams have already finalised their driver line up there are still some teams with drives available.

The transition from current competition into the CIK Championship has been made easier by the recent decision made by the International Karting Council (IKC) that front brakes will not be allowed in the series during 2008.

“The front brake issue is something that has been a discussion point for a number of months now and I can now confirm that for 2008 they will not be permitted as a part of the regulations for the CIK Championship in Australia,” said IKC representative Simon Whiting.

“Now it is time for everyone in Australian karting to get behind the series and look to the future so we can once again have an ‘elite’ series which every member of the AKA can be proud of.”

The IAME Parilla Reedster engines, which will be used by all competitors in the CIK Championship, are set to land in Australia later this week. Series organisers are aiming to outline the engine maintenance program in the near future.

Dunlop has now been selected as the tyre of choice for 2008 with the first batch of tyres set to land in Australia next week.

Revised 2008 Australian CIK Championship Schedule
June 14/15 - Newcastle, NSW
July TBA - Ipswich, Qld
September 13/14 – VACC Park, Melbourne, Vic
October 4/5 – Port Macquarie, NSW
November 15/16 – Toowoomba, QLD

Current list of teams registered for the 2008 Australian CIK Championship
Extreme Racing (Maranello)