SA Toyota Leopard Series, Round 3

from Craig Denton

The third round of the South Australian Toyota Leopard Series was run by the Southern Go Kart Club at Bolivar on June 1st.

Leopard Light
Leopard Light put on some great racing for round three of the series. With Ben Edwards, Scott Kissock, Brett Fortainier, Josh Tynan, Jedd Stojakovic and Paul Pittam all entered for the weekend the end result would be very hard to guess but one thing for sure it would be entertaining.

Above: Ben Edwards leads round winner Josh Tynan

Brett showed great pace in the first heat taking a solid win from Ben Edwards and Josh Tynan who had come from the back of the grid. Josh won the next two heats to set himself up for an easy race in the final heat whilst Ben suffered a DNF in the second heat. Jedd has been showing good form of late in his CRG and ran second to Josh in the two heats with Paul Pittam taking a third in the second heat. He had a wretched weekend suffering three DNF’s.

Above: Brett Fortainier

The final saw Josh Tynan start from the front and in a tactical race finish the final in third which was enough to give him the win overall. The front group raced hard in the final with four karts trying to squeeze into the pit corner at one stage – the end result being a bent axle for Brett. Jedd come through for the win in the final from Ben and Josh.

Overall Result:
1st Josh Tynan
2nd Jedd Stojakovic
3rd Brett Fortanier
4th Ben Edwards
5th Scott Kissock

Above: Josh Tynan

Above: Jedd Stojakovic

Leopard Heavy
Numbers where down a little for this round with Matt Hall and Shaun Stevens electing to drop a round and run at the Winter cup in Geelong. Rowan Booth showed great speed all weekend dominating the class taking four wins from Simon Layne and Blake Mooney.

Blake showed good speed in his Kosmic at times and was never far off of the lead but just could not quite make up that extra bit. Craig Owen ran third in the first heat backing it up with a 5th and two 4th’s to finish the day in fourth.

Overall it was a quite placid field of Leopard Heavies with Rowan taking the win from Simon, Blake, Craig Owen, Michael Smith, Nathan Harris and Kristan Harris. 

Above: Ben Edwards on the grid

Above: Leopard Light roll up laps