kartsportnews.com kart racing website

Rising Stars To Celebrate 50 Wins in Darwin

press release

After only three and a half years, the CAMS Rising Star Program and the newly implemented AMSF International Rising Star Program have achieved a major milestone of 50 race victories.

To celebrate the achievement, CAMS Rising Star drivers Jake Chapman, Scott Pye and Daniel Erickson will carry a commemorative sticker marking the achievement at the next round of the Ford Genuine Parts Australian Formula Ford Championship (AFFC) at Hidden Valley Raceway in Darwin on July 4-6.

jake chapman cams rising stars
Above: Jake Chapman puts the finishing touches to his CAMS Rising Star Spectrum, which will run a special sticker in celebration of his 50th win for the CAMS Rising Star and AMSF International Rising Star programs.

This significant milestone was attained at the recent AFFC round at Sandown International Raceway in Melbourne, Victoria, when Chapman won his maiden national race for the CAMS Rising Star Program.

“I was only aware of this milestone after I had won my race and it made the victory extra sweet,” said Chapman.

“I hope to contribute many more wins to the tally, both in this Program and hopefully as part of the AMSF International Rising Star Program.

“It will be great to display this success on our CAMS Rising Star Spectrums in Darwin. It’s the first time Formula Ford has been to the Hidden Valley circuit and I’m certainly keen to add to the win tally up in the Top End.”

The CAMS Rising Star Program now boasts one international victory, with John Martin taking a win in the 2006 British Formula Ford Championship, 24 national victories and 23 state victories in Formula Ford competition in Australia.

In its debut year, the AMSF International Rising Star Program has two international victories to its credit, achieved by Tim Blanchard in this year’s British Formula Ford Championship.

Since the inception of these programs, there have been ten drivers who have scored victories under the Rising Star banner including six multiple race winners. The most prolific winners have included current AMSF International Rising Stars Ashley Walsh (16 race wins) and John Martin (nine), current leader of the AFFC, Paul Laskazeski (ten) and Kristian Lindbom (seven).

Laskazeski took the CAMS Rising Star Program’s first victory back in 2005 in the NSW State Formula Ford Championship at Wakefield Park in Goulburn, New South Wales, with the 50th win coming a little over three years later.

“We are delighted to have reached this milestone so quickly and it reinforces how important it is for a driver to be involved in our Programs,” said AMSF General Manager, Quentin Crombie.

“In addition to the significant number of victories, the CAMS Rising Star Program has one national championship, one state championship and five “Rookie of the Year” awards to its name. No other development program in Australia can claim anything close to this success.”

Entries for the 2009 CAMS Rising Star Program are currently open, with nominations closing on Friday 4th July 2008. For further information on the assessment criteria and to download a nomination form, please visit AMSF.org.au.

The CAMS Rising Star Program acknowledges the support from its partners including: the Australian Sports Commission, Borland Racing Developments, Biante Model Cars, OAMPS Insurance Brokers, the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport, Mark Webber, Stand 21 Australia, Fleetwood Print Group, Just Cars, Robert Bosch (Australia) and McBadges.


© kartsportnews.com