kartsportnews.com kart racing website

Motorex Masters - Nepean Speedway Round 5

press release

It was round 5 of the 2008 New South Wales Speedway Kart Club’s 2008 championship last Sunday (June 22) and under brilliant blue skies the speedway karts certainly “turned it on” at the superb Nepean Raceway complex.

The meeting, the Motorex Racing Oils Masters saw the karts racing on the long track for the second time this year and with near record entries, all divisions produced sensational racing with many standout performances during the day.

Beside’s the day being the speedway karts final shoot out before next months NSW State Title’s meeting the Federal member for Lindsay David Bradbury was on hand at presentation to hand over an Australian Flag with Kim Freer accepting the flag.

The KT Heavy division saw former sprintcar ace Troy Little’s crew chief Craig Banks in devastating form winning all three heat races but while challenging in the feature spun out and was a non finisher. While the feature was taken out by Anthony Selmes, Craig Banks still finished third overall but it was John Watton picking up the round victory.

In the Midget’s young Corey Foyle continued his great form taking out the round as well as the feature race. Corey has been a real find this year and he look’s to be heading for a big career in the speedway karts.

Although he took out the round 2007 Club Champion Michael Jordan didn’t have it all his own way in the Junior division with Matthew Pescod taking out the feature.

Lady racer Alana Baines continued her forward progress winning the KT Open Light division with the fast Joel Goff taking out a superb win in the feature.

David Boyd scored the double in winning both the round and feature races for the Clubman Light ranks with former NSWSKC champion Jonathan Bright also taking out the double in the Formula 100 division.

The final class racing last Sunday was the Clubman Heavy with NSWSKC President Wayne Baines winning the feature but Steven Mitchell was very impressive in taking out the round.

Round winners and major place getters on the day were:

Midgets: Walkabout Lodge
1st  Corey Foyle
2nd Luke Sayer
3rd Rebecca Abbott
Feature Winner: Corey Foyle

KT Open Heavy: Graham’s Painting Services
1st John Watton
2nd Chris Troy
3rd Craig Banks
 Feature Winner: Anthony Selmes

KT Open Light: Hoppings Mowers
1st Alana Baines
2nd Nathan Randell
3rd Steve Hopping
Feature Winner: Joel Goff

Clubman Heavy: Angel’s Roofing Accessories
1st Steven Mitchell
2nd Cameron Coghlan
3rd Daniel Selmes
Feature Winner: Wayne Baines                    

Formula 100: Keats Racing/Karting World
1st  Jonathan Bright
2nd  Donald Stevens
3rd  Jason Freer
Feature Winner: Jonathan Bright

Juniors: G-Force Racewear
1st Michael Jordan
2nd Kyle Pollock
3rd Bronson Butcher
Feature Winner: Matthew Pescod

Clubman Light: 101 Mortgage
1st David Boyd
2nd Jade Pollock
3rd Sean Mayo
Feature Winner: David Boyd

Other winners on the day were:

  • David Cochran (On Track Automotive  Award)
  • David Boyd (Greg Boscato Speedsports Media Achievement Award)
  •  Ben Ralph (Motorex Award )

It’s pleasing to see many drivers, families, crew’s and fans staying back for the after meeting presentation and like the racing nominations and numbers are growing at each and every meeting.

The NSWSKC returns to the Nepean Motorsports complex for the biggie of the year, the 2008 NSW State Titles scheduled for Saturday July 26 and Sunday July 27 2008.

The Nepean Motorsports complex is situated on Rickards Road Castlereagh with racing starting at 10am.


© kartsportnews.com