McIlveen Wins Race 1 at Australian Superkart Final

from Mark Jones

Reigning Australian Superkart Champion Warren McIlveen took victory in the first of four races to be held at the final round of the Dave Potter Honda Australian Superkart Championship. 

McIlveen led every lap to take the win aboard the Mac's Marine Stockman-Honda, leading home what became a tight top six battle.

Gary Pegoraro (RMR Superkarts / Marron Excavations Anderson-FPE) made a big start from the third row of the grid to jump into third at turn one only to get jumped on at the exit of the corner before settling in to a race long drive to reel in Sam Zavaglia (Stockman Superkarts Stockman-Yamaha).

Darren Hossack (Safe Evolutions Anderson-Safe) did his championship hopes the best good, climbing into second position in the early running and staying clear of the Zavaglia-Pegoraro battle. Zavaglia claimed third over Pegoraro in the end, but both drivers really needed to finish ahead of Hossack.

First Ilya Harpas (Internode / Metaplanners / Davtec Zip-BRC), then Daniel Ramerman in the KC Tools Anderson-Yamaha caught onto the tail of Pegoraro and Harpas made several attacks at Pegoraro, before he had to focus on defending his position from Ramermen.

Seventh was taken by Ralf Rupprecht (Stockman-Honda) ahead of Carlo Chermaz (Buildersmile Construction PVP) who continues to struggle for pace and is now losing touch with the championship fight. Brett Purdie (Martelco Equipment Hire Zip-Yamaha) and Kristian Stebbing (Suburban Accounting Stockman-Honda) completed the top ten competitors.

Yiani Harpas (Internode / Metaplanners / Davtec Zip-BRC) made the grid after breaking his engine in practice, utilising the BRC engine that had been powering Luke May's Zip Eagle, but that engine too would not make the finish. Matt Wall (RMR Superkarts Anderson-FPE/RCS) did not make his fourth position after fouling his plugs at the dummy grid. In the end they decided to preserve the Anderson-FPE/RCS tyres for Sunday.

Anthony Lappas (Romeo's Foodland / IGA Supermarkets Stockman-Honda) was too quick for the 125 gearbox division building a lead quickly, a lead which doubled after Jeff Reed (Telgrit P/L Stockman-Honda) was taken out of the race after a collision with another competitor. Series leader Brad Stebbing (Suburban Accounting Stockman-Honda) came home second ahead of John Pellicano (Giova Design Avoig-Honda) and Tim Philp (George Floth Engineering Stockman-Honda).

A collision in the 250 Nationals on lap three at turn 2 saw Martin Latta pitched off the track. The MJR Bricklaying Stockman-Yamaha recovered and took the lead back from David Yuill (Aardvark Polishing Anderson-Yamaha) on the last lap under brakes at the end of the back straight.

Points: Darren Hossack 96, Sam Zavaglia 75, Warren McIlveen 67, Gary Pegoraro 67, Carlo Chermaz 59, Anton Stevens 39, Yiani Harpas 33, Matthew Wall 32, Daniel Ramerman 29, Stephen Castles 29 etc

250 Nationals: Martin Latta 105, David Yuill 73, Frank Giglio 65, Rick Setterfield 15

125 Gearbox: Brad Stebbing 99, Anthony Lappas 79, Jarrod Lethborg 69, Tim Philp 59, Jason Smith 59 et