Annual Speedway Stampede

press release

Last Sunday (November 16th) the New South Wales Speedway Kart Club presented the penultimate round of the GREAT 2008 Championship, the annual Stampede meeting sponsored by the Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway.

As expected all the regular “heavy hitters” in all divisions nominated and a great day of speedway action was assured. With just one round remaining, everyone was out to get those vital points as they chased the 2008 championship crown.

A solid eight kart field assembled for the Formula 100’s with the added bonus of Graham Keats making his first appearance of 2008. The heats saw wins going to Donald Stevens, Jason Freer and Jonathan Bright but in the feature Graham Keats stormed in to take the victory over Nathan Bailey and Jonathan Bright.

The KT Open light featured great racing all day with heats going to Alana Baines and Joel Goff (2 wins) and Nathan Bailey scoring the win in the feature.

It was again strong field in the Rookies with Mark Hooper, Ayden Elliott and Nathan Camilleri taking out heat wins while an impressive Jake Baines won the feature race.

The Midgets featured a quality 9 kart field with the feature being won by Luke Sayer over Rhys Tuohy and Taylor Riedyk while heats were taken out by Andrew Beattie and Corey Foyle with 2 wins.

As usual the Clubman Heavy’s provided sensational racing with Cameron Coghlan and Steven Mitchell (2 wins) while the feature was won by club president Wayne Baines.

An eight kart field was on hand for the KT Heavy division and after racing his sprintcar the previous night, Craig Banks took out a great win in the feature race. The heat wins were taken out by John Watton (2 wins) and Tim Beattie.

Michael Jordan started the Junior division’s day off by winning the opening heat while Matthew Pescod took out the other heat events. In the feature, Michael Jordan proved too strong in winning over Kyle Pollock and Matthew Pescod home in third.

The final division racing last Sunday was the Clubman Light with heats wins going to Nathan Bailey (2 wins) and Matt Tourish while Matt Tourish continued his winning form in taking out the final feature race.

Round winners and major place getters on the day were:

Rookies: Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway
1st  Nathan Camilleri
2nd Arydon Elliott
3rd Jordyn Brazier
Feature Winner: Jake Baines

KT Open Heavy: Keats Racing/Karting World
1st Craig Banks
2nd John Watton
3rd Chris Troy
Feature Winner: Craig Banks

Clubman Heavy: Angel’s Roofing Accessories
1st Steven Mitchell
2nd Cameron Coghlan
3rd Daniel Selmes
Feature Winner: Wayne Baines

Formula 100: Graham’s Painting Services  
1st  Jonathan Bright
2nd  David Hopping
3rd  Nathan Bailey
Feature winner: Graham Keats

Juniors: G-Force Racewear
1st Matthew Pescod
2nd Kyle Pollock
3rd Michael Jordan
Feature Winner: Michael Jordan

Clubman Light: 101 Mortgage
1st Nathan Bailey
2nd Matthew Tourish
3rd Brent Coghlan
Feature Winner: Matthew Tourish

KT Open Light: Hoppings Mowers
1st Alana Baines
2nd Nathan Randell
3rd Steve Hopping
Feature Winner: Nathan Randell

1st Luke Sayer
2nd Corey Foyle
3rd Andrew Beattie
Feature Winner: Luke Sayer

Other winners on the day were:

  • Luke Spalding (On Track Automotive  Award)
  •  Luke Sayer (Greg Boscato Speedsports Media Achievement Award)
  • Chantel Watts/Rhind (Motorex Award )

It’s pleasing to see many drivers, families, crew’s and fans staying back for the after meeting presentation and like the racing nominations and numbers are growing at each and every meeting.

The NSWSKC returns to the Nepean Motorsports complex for the rescheduled Nepean Nationals on November 30. The Nepean Motorsports complex is situated on Rickards Road Castlereagh with racing starting at 10am.

The NSWSKC would like to thank the following corporate partners for their continued support for the 2008 Season:

101 Mortgage:
Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway:
Angel’s Roofing Accessories:
Graham’s Painting Service:
Keats Racing/Karting World:          
G Force Racewear:                
Hoppings Mowers:
Motorex Racing Oils:
On Track Automotive:
Impact Images:
NSR-Nathan Smee Racing:
Outback Brewery:
Snowflake Blast & Powdercoat:
ST Signs and Designs:
Design Effects Signage:
Greg Boscato SpeedSports Media: