Speedway Karts Re-Ignite Nepean

press release

It was a long summer break, but last Sunday the speedway karts returned to racing and really turned the action on in Round 2 of the 2009 New South Wales Speedway Kart Club championship season.

After rain caused round one to be postponed until May last weekend the G Force RaceWear supported Nepean Open saw 78 sensational karts hitting the superb Nepean Motorsports Complex.

Above: NSWSKC Champion Wayne Baines in action.
pic - Stillshots

There were a host of first time racers and heaps of new or updated machinery on hand for the G Force Racewear Nepean Open and with a slightly modified track conditions the racing was certainly hard and fast.

The young Midgets continue to impress and it looks like 2009 will be another stellar year with James Peters starting the season off in taking out the first heat. With a strong nine kart field, the other heat wins were taken out by Kyle Angel and Andrew Beattie with Luke Sayer winning the feature race.

In the Clubman Light David Boyd scored a clean sweep in winning all three heats as well as the feature. Greg Coghlan finished second in the main with Nathan Bailey (who now also races a NOS Sprint in speedway) picked up third.

In a strong nine kart field the Clubman Heavy certainly provided some great racing during the day. Heat wins were shared by Les Green (2 wins) and Gary Slarke while Tim Bake was impressive in winning the feature. The round was taken out by James Camilleri, the TPCR crash crew member who only took up kart racing (joining his son Nathan) late last year and wasn’t he and his team excited with the win.

Ashleigh Briton started the day off well in the Juniors in winning the first heat while Kyle Pollock scored the victory in the second with Ashleigh bouncing back in winning heat three. The feature saw Cameron Middlemass defeating Nathan Camilleri and Kyle Pollock.

Heat wins in the KT Open Light saw Alana Baines and Jason Beattie sharing victories while comeback racer Graham Keats took out the feature from Jason Beattie and Alana Baines.

The other KT Open division Heavy and Wayne Baines (moving into the KT ranks this year) took out two heat wins with the other being taken out by Graham Keats. In a hard fought feature Luke Storey held off a fast finishing Wayne Baines to claim the win.

Sean Mayo, Jason Freer and Jonathan Bright shared the heat race wins for the Formula 100 with Jonathan Bright also taking out the feature race.

Round winners and major place getters on the day were:

1st  Luke Sayer
2nd Kyle Angel
3rd James Peterse

1st Kyle Pollock
2nd Ashleigh Briton
3rd Regan Angel
Clubman Heavy:
1st James Camilleri
2nd Gary Slarke
3rd Michael Gibbs

KT Open Heavy:
1st Wayne Baines
2nd John Watton
3rd Christopher Troy

KT Open Light:
1st  Jason Beattie
2nd  Nathan Randell
3rd  Joel Goff

Clubman Light:
1st David Boyd
2nd Nathan Bailey
3rd Stephen Coghlan

Formula 100:
1st Jonathan Bright
2nd Jason Freer
3rd David Hopping

Other winners on the day were:

  •  Daniel Gow (On Track Automotive  Award)
  • Wayne Baines (Greg Boscato Speedsports Media Achievement Award)

It’s pleasing to see many drivers, families, crew’s and fans staying back for the after meeting presentation and like the racing nominations and numbers are growing at each and every meeting.

The NSWSKC returns to the Nepean Motorsports complex later this month March 29th for The Shootout sponsored by Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway.

The Nepean Motorsports complex is situated on Rickards Road Castlereagh with racing starting at 10am. The NSWSKC would like to thank the following corporate partners for their continued support for the 2009 Season:

BC Body Making:
Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway:
G Force Racewear:
On Track Automotive:
ST Signs and Designs:
Design Effects Signage:
PR Machine:
Greg Boscato SpeedSports Media:



© kartsportnews.com