NSW Speedway Kart Club Championship, Round 3

press release

The speedway karts again “turned it on” at the Nepean Motorsports complex last Sunday (March 29) in round three of the 2009 New South Wales Speedway Kart Club championship.

The Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway supported “Shootout” meeting again saw over 75 karters on hand with the TPCR’s Steven Green and Stu McCarthy making an appearance during the day.

The action was again sensational with near record numbers in all divisions it’s very pleasing to see new names on the winners podium.

The Midgets continue to impress and with 10 karter’s in the field, the heat wins were shared by Luke Sayer, Taylor Rietdyk and Andrew Beattie with Kyle Angel taking out the feature race.

Joel Middlemass started the Rookie’s day off with a good win in the opening heat with Daniel Sayre winning the next two heats while Corey Foyle proved to be too strong in the feature taking the victory over Rhys Tuohy and Daniel Sayer.

In the Clubman Heavy the heats were taken out by Daniel Selmes (2 wins) and Les Green while the in the feature Anthony Selmes scored the win over Daniel Selmes and James Camilleri.

Nathan Randell won the opening heat in the KT Open light division sharing the heat victory with Joel Goff who won heats 2 and 3. In the feature race Jason Beattie was the winner over Alana Baines and Joel Goff.

In the Formula 100’s the heats were taken out by Sean Mayo, Donald Stevens and Jonathan Bright with Brent Coghlan winning the feature race.

It was a strong 14 kart field in the KT Open heavy ranks and despite an incident in the feature the divison is certainly going to produce superb racing this year. The heats were taking out by 2008 Club Champion  Wayne Baines but a crash in the feature saw him a non finisher. The feature was taken out by Joel Rhind with Cameron Coghlan and John Watton making up the top three finishers.

The Clubman Light division with a huge 16 kart field saw Michael Jordan, Glen Saville (now a top Parramatta sprintcar driver) and David Boyd sharing the heat wins while David Boyd repeated his heat three win in taking out the feature over Jade Pollock and Stephen Coghlan. Jade Pollock was impressive in leading the feature but after running high in a corner lost the lead and had to settle for second.

Round winners and major place getters on the day were:

Midgets: BC Body Making
1st  Andrew Beattie
2nd Kyle Angel
3rd James Peters

Rookies: Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway
1st  Daniel Sayre
2nd Corey Foyle
3rd Rhys Touhy
Clubman Heavy Angel’s Roofing Accessories
1st Daniel Selmes
2nd Les Green
3rd Tim Baker

Clubman Light: Wescranes
1st David Boyd
2nd Glen Saville
3rd Matt Tourish

KT Open Heavy: Darley’s Oakhill Meats
1st John Watton
2nd James Robertson
3rd Graham Keats

KT Open Light: Hopping’s Mowers
1st  Alana Baines 100 points Tied but awarded on count back
2nd  Joel Goff 100 points
3rd  Michael Brett

Formula 100: Karting World/Keats Racing
1st Jonathan Bright
2nd Jason Freer
3rd Sean Mayo

Other winners on the day were:

 Chris Collins (On Track Automotive  Award)

David Boyd (Greg Boscato Speedsports Media Achievement Award)

John Watton (StillShots Award)

It’s pleasing to see many drivers, families, crew’s and fans staying back for the after meeting presentation and like the racing nominations and numbers are growing at each and every meeting.

The NSWSKC returns to the Nepean Motorsports complex on April 19th for the annual Celebration Day.

The Nepean Motorsports complex is situated on Rickards Road Castlereagh with racing starting at 10am.

The NSWSKC would like to thank the following corporate partners for their continued support for the 2009 Season:

BC Body Making:
Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway:
Karting World/Keats Racing:
Angel’s Roofing Accessories:
Hopping’s Mowers:
Darley’s Oakhill Meats:
G Force Racewear:
On Track Automotive:
ST Signs and Designs:
Design Effects Signage:
PR Machine:
Impact Images:
Inside Speedway:
Cascade Plumbing:
Pharma Tech Systems:
Blue Mountains Area Tree Lopping:


© kartsportnews.com