kartsportnews.com kart racing website

Manning Wins At Third Round of Super Sprint 4s Series

press release

Supporting the ‘Wakefield Park 7 Hour’ Endurance Kart race last Saturday in the return of Go Karting to Goulburn’s Wakefield Park Raceway, the third round of the Powered by Honda ProKart Australia Super Sprint 4’s Go Kart Series was run and won in convincing fashion by Glen Manning.

Throughout the qualifying and the two heat races, Manning played second fiddle to Rick Ward, who had topped the time sheets in qualifying and won both heat races. However, in the final it was Manning that came to the fore. Ward headed into the final as the highest point scorer and therefore started from pole position and led the opening lap before Manning took over the lead on the second lap and from there he was never headed.

In what was a turn up for the books, Ward, who runs in the Senior Heavy class, stayed in second place up until the latter stages of the 10 lap final before disappointingly retiring out of the race due to suffering damage from a collision between the pair as they were fighting for the lead. Unfortunately Ward’s DNF during the running of the final ruined what was otherwise a clean run for him after he had earlier taken out qualifying and then both heat races.

The final resulted in Manning defeating Rob Gillett and Jessica Hodgskin in second and third place respectively on the podium. Daniel Wheeler, Brian Briton and Nathan Peick completed the top six finishers. Both Briton and Peick, who run in front running Endurance Kart teams, made cameo appearances during the third round of the Super Sprint 4’s Series and finished the final in fifth and sixth place respectively.

While Manning won the Senior Heavy class it was Hodgskin that made an impressive debut in the Super Sprint 4’s Series to finish second in the Senior Light class behind winner Rob Gillett. Hodgskin ran last year in the Super Sprint 4’s Series in the Junior class and she has certainly made an impression from the get go in the Senior ranks.

Also running on the Saturday around the 1.2km Wakefield Park Raceway circuit was the third round of the NKA National Super Go Kart Series and the wins in the Senior finals were taken out by Leigh Wright (Clubman combined), Dan Starling (Open Performance), Ben O’Brien (TAG Red Light), Brett Banfield (TAG Red Heavy), Vic Roy (TAG Heavy and TAG Over 40s combined) and Dylan Tennyson (TAG Yellow).

The fourth round of the Super Sprint 4’s Series is going to be run at the Butterfly Farm Go Kart Track (Hawkesbury District in NSW) on Saturday, May 16, while the fourth round of the NKA National Super Series is to be held on Sunday, May 17 down at Wollongong City Raceway (Kembla Grange, South Coast of NSW).      


© kartsportnews.com