Rain Doesn't Stop Speedway Celebration Day

press release

Last Sunday (April 19) the New South Wales Speedway Kart Club held the annual Celebration Day at the superb Nepean Motorsports complex, a day to honour life or past members of the NSWSKC.

While the meeting wasn’t a NSWSKC championship round and with light showers falling during the day the Celebration Day did attract a very good line up with excellent numbers in all divisions.

Racing was hard and fast and despite the showers everyone enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the day’s competition.

One aspect of the Celebration Day is the team’s concept which was started last year. The idea is that a senior driver is paired with a junior competitor from either Midgets, Rookies or Juniors and their collective points for the day will be added to find The Celebration Day Team of the Year. This year the team combo of Matthew Pescod & Brent Coghlan took out the team’s award.

The day saw a few new faces racing in the speedway karts and also saw some current speedway champions helping out in the pits. Current Australian Sprintcar Champion Garry Brazier was present helping out his son Jordyn as was speedcar ace Mark Brown while fellow speedcar star former Kiwi champ Mark Brown was also seen working in the Nepean pits. Sprintcar racer Steve Rhind joined his son Joel racing at the Celebration meeting making the day a real family affair. Even long time sprintcar and speedway karting star Brian Briton made a welcome return to the speedway action and totally enjoyed the day.

The winners and major place getters on the day were:
Midgets: honouring Life Member Jeff Burton
1st  Luke Sayer
2nd Kaidon Brown
3rd Andrew Sayre

Rookies: honouring Life Member  Keryn Evans
1st  Daniel Sayre
2nd Corey Foyle
3rd Luke Spadling

Juniors: honouring Past Member  Gary Bourke
1st Matthew Pescod
2nd Kyle Pollock
3rd Ashleigh Briton
Clubman Heavy: honouring Life Member  Brian Briton  
1st Grant Lahiff
2nd Steve Hogan
3rd Steve Rhind

Clubman Light: honouring Life Member  Rob Eyeington
1st Michael Jordan
2nd Joel Rhind
3rd Stephan Coghlan

KT Open Heavy: honouring Past Member  Ashley Smith
1st Wayne Baines
2nd Cameron Coghlan
3rd Rodney Sievwright

KT Open Light : honouring Life Member  Donna Eyeington
1st  Joel Goff
2nd  Alana Baines
3rd  Michael Brett

Formula 100: honouring Past Member  Tony Johnson
1st Sean Mayo
2nd Brett Coghlan
3rd Donald Stevens

Other winners on the day were: 
Joel Goff (Greg Boscato Speedsports Media Achievement Award)

Matthew Pescod & Brent Coghlan (Team of the Year)

The speedway karts return to the Nepean Motorsports complex on May 3 for the rescheduled round 1 of the 2009 NSWSKC championship series with the BC Body Making Champion of Champions meeting.

The Nepean Motorsports complex is situated on Rickards Road Castlereagh with racing starting at 10am.

The NSWSKC would like to thank the following corporate partners for their continued support for the 2009 Season:

BC Body Making:
Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway:
Karting World/Keats Racing:
Angel’s Roofing Accessories:
Hopping’s Mowers:
Darley’s Oakhill Meats:
G Force Racewear:
On Track Automotive:
ST Signs and Designs:
Design Effects Signage:
PR Machine:
Impact Images:
Inside Speedway:
Cascade Plumbing:
Pharma Tech Systems:
Blue Mountains Area Tree Lopping:
Mulgoa Quarries:
Coates Hire:
Greg Boscato SpeedSports Media:


© kartsportnews.com