Mariners Racing Win Dubbo's Split 9-Hour

press release

The fourth round of the 2009 The Endurance Kart Association (TEKA) NSW Championship was run and won over the June Long Weekend at Lincoln County Raceway, near Dubbo in Western NSW, and it resulted in the # 49 Mariners Racing team taking (pic, below) out the top honours in the A Grade class.

With the fourth round of the TEKA NSW Championship broken into two segments, a four hour race on Saturday afternoon and then a five hour race on the Sunday and the best performing team from both segments were awarded with the winning honours in their respective classes, and this certainly tested the 25 teams competing, especially in the consistency department from start to finish.

The Mariners Racing team haven’t enjoyed the best of starts to the year in the TEKA NSW Championship and for the Lincoln Country Raceway round they debuted with a freshly rebuilt engine and it certainly paid dividends.

Throughout the two segments it was Mariners Racing and # 35 W.A.R Racing that fought it out for the victory honours in the A Grade class and very little separated the pair and they were so close that victory in the end was decided by each and every pit stop that the teams did.

At the fall of the chequered flag it was Mariners Racing that recorded their maiden round victory of the year in the A Grade class and they finished ahead of a closely following, only 20 seconds adrift, W.A.R Racing and back in third place was the # 81 Toynton Racing team.

In the B Grade class the victory spoils were taken out by # 26 Dodgy Boys Racing, who bounced back to form after a horrid run at the previous round, and finishing back in second and third place respectively on the podium was # 7 Sky Racing and # 76 Grumpy Mongrels Racing.

The newly formed Briggs and Stratton (B&S) class resulted in # 51 Kinetic Motorsport taking the win and they were followed home by the # 30 Team XLR8 and # 9 Buildline Racing teams that completed the podium finishes.

Current 2009 TEKA NSW Championship Point Standings (after four completed rounds):

A Grade:
1 # 35 W.A.R Racing - 217 points
2 # 91 Ghetto Racing – 179
3 # 49 Mariners Racing – 170

B Grade:
1 # 41 GTS Racing – 169 points
2 # 76 Grumpy Mongrels Racing – 161
3 # 8 Grey Ghost Racing 2 – 153

1 # 30 Team XLR8 – 211 points
2 # 9 Buildline Racing – 197
3 # 51 Kinetic Motorsport - 125

 PLEASE NOTE: that all results from round four remain unofficial.

The fifth round of the 2009 TEKA NSW Championship is to be held at Oran Park Raceway (Narellan, NSW) on Saturday, July 18

Above: Sky Racing