Preview: British Superkart Grand Prix

press release

The MSA British Superkart Grand Prix is the pinnacle of the British Superkart year with the very best drivers from Britain and Europe competing for six GP titles. The first three events at Cadwell Park were massively successful with competitors and spectators alike, so if you like your motor racing a little different make sure you come to the British Superkart GP this July 18th / 19th.

With drivers from 30 countries from all over the world, this Grand Prix is predicted to be the best in several years. We have current and past World, European Champions racing for the coveted GP plate.

In the top Division 1 Superkart class we have 50 drivers and the hot favourites are the British drivers. These pocket rockets weigh 210kg and are powered by a 250 GP bike engine. These machines have recorded speeds of over 160 mph and can lap circuits quicker then some Formula 3 cars.

Top British drivers include last years GP winner Lee Harpham. Carl Hulme, Dave Harvey and Mark Owens will be up against the best drivers in the World.

Peter Elkmann from Germany is the current FIA-CIK European champion. Carlo Chermaz from Australia is another driver to watch. Carlo has based himself in Europe. He is taking part in the European championship and will be looking for a podium finish. Our own National Champion Dave Harvey from Lincoln will be hoping for better results than he has had this year. He is currently lying in 8th in the National Championship. Robert Nash returns to the top flight 250cc Division 1 class could upset the apple cart.

In the 250cc MSA British Championship class will have some 41 driver entered. The 250cc National class has seen the closet racing this season. At Thruxton earlier in the year we have seen 4 abreast up the straight and at the finish there were 6 superkart all within 0.75 of a second over the finish line. The top drivers are current MSA British Champion Jason Dredge from Reading. Gavin Bennett who is leading the FIA European Championship in the top Div 1 class will also be racing in the National class so we will see a close fight at the front. The other top drivers who will be fighting at the front are Craig Fleming from Wellington, James Tucker - Burntwood, James O'Reilly - Nettleton.

The smaller engined 125cc Open class should not be dismissed. Going in to the last championship race meeting the top 3 driver were all on the same points. These Superkarts use engines similar to the 125 GP bikes. The drivers reaching around 130mph on the Cadwell Park circuit. Lady driver Louse Colin from Swindon will chasing the GP title in this class. The drivers who will be taking the fight to the lady racer will be Lee Morgan from Runcorn, Danny Edwards from North Wales and Ben Willshire from Basingstoke.