Brian Stewart Karting Championships, Round 4

press release

The Brian Stewart Racing Karting Championship took on a new track and came away the big winner on the weekend. The Waterloo Regional Kart Club pulled out all the stops to welcome competitors and showcase their new home to the Ontario regional karting community. And the reviews were great.

Above: Senior Rotax winner Lorenzo Mandarino picks up a wheel
pic - Cody Schindel, Autosports Media

The WRKC raced out of Bingaman Park for 27 years before constructing a new track inside Flamboro Speedway. A club with great history joined a track with great history to create a unique venue for karting. In 2008, the WRKC cut the ribbon on their new home and started racing on the road oval layout inside the 3/8 mile stock car track. A total of 159 entries raced over two days with 74 running in six classes on Saturday and 159 taking to the track in Sunday. So far in 2009 the BSRKC has average over 248 entries per weekend.

“The weekend went well despite Mother Nature trying her best to slow us down,” comments Jim Dietrich, WRKC board member and event organizer. “Everyone was great and worked within our time constraints. The weather was amazing on Sunday and was only matched by the action on the track.”

On Saturday a huge rainstorm flooded the track with nearly a foot of water. Track representatives along with Series Officials and volunteers worked to clear the water and prepare the track for action. Working against a 3:00 PM deadline to clear the paddock, the track was up and going within 90 minutes. Drivers would run through qualifying and go straight to finals to meet the deadline. In Micro Max it was Tyler Ripani taking the win. In Mini Max Nicholas Ledson would see the checkered first. In Rotax Junior it was points leader Garett Grist taking the win, while in Rotax Senior it was Lorenzo Mandarino making it three in a row. In DD2 Frankie Launi would follow up his round three victory with another trip to the top step of the podium. In the only four-cycle class on the day, Junior Medium was taken by local favorite Scott Nagel.

Above: Ryan Horses won ICC
pic - Cody Schindel, Autosports Media

“The track was great and very raceable,” comments racing veteran and Innisfil Indy owner Frank Launi. “They did wonderful job with the event and the racing was awesome.”

On Sunday there was a full slate of classes including the ICC class. In Cadet it was Zach Hoopper taking the A main while Hudson Turpin took the B Main. Caly Van Eerd dominated the Novice class with a big win.  In Junior Lite Scott Nagel took the win, while in Junior Heavy it was Adam Racine in first. In Senior Lite action it was Michael Glaze first to the stripe. Keeping with senior action, in the Heavy class it was Dave Patrick leading the way in a three-wide drag race to the finish. In Masters it was points leader Jake Collison using home field advantage to take the win. In ICC it was Ryan Horses scoring his first win of 2009.

“Everyone at the BSRKC and at the WRKC is very happy with the weekend,” states Mike Preston, BSRKC series spokesman and WRKC board member. “The free BBQ on Saturday was a hit and a nice way to say thanks to everyone for clearing the paddock for Saturday stock car racing.”

A special thanks to event sponsors GreenSpeed Karting who, along with team principal Mike Morrison, were on hand to handout trophies at the awards presentations. The WRKC went the extra mile handing out awards to fifth place. The free BBQ was sponsored by GeoSmart Geothermal.