Former & Current Karters Make Up CAMS 2009 Junior Driver Development Program

press release

CAMS has selected five of Australia's most promising up-and-coming young drivers to be part of the CAMS Junior Driver Development Program in 2009 and attend the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS).

The Junior Driver Development program will run in addition to the successful CAMS Rally, Off Road and Women’s Driver Development Programs.

The junior program is designed to facilitate the development of Australia's most promising young motor sport competitors at club level irrespective of what discipline they are currently competing in.

The five drivers selected for the 2009 Junior Driver Development Program are:

  • Aaron Borg (circuit racing) 
  • Jesse Fenech (circuit racing)
  • Rhys Howell (club motor sport and circuit racing)
  • Brendan Luneman (superkarts)
  • Sean Whitfield (circuit racing) 

Ranging in age from 14 to 17, these five drivers are the latest to join an illustrious list of people to be selected to attend the AIS and improve themselves both physically and mentally for a professional career in motor sport.

The participants will be treated to a three-day program at the AIS which will include physiological testing and psychological sessions as well as informative sessions on strength and conditioning, nutrition, self-massage and recovery, stretching and specific preparation methods for motor sport participants.

The AIS camp will be held on 24-26 August 2009 where for the first time, the junior drivers will be attending with the Off Road Driver Development Program and Women’s Driver Development Program participants to share their experiences and spend time with those who are already making headway into their national motor sport careers. 

“This is a terrific opportunity for young drivers to develop their skills and benefit from the expert training and resources available at the AIS,” said CAMS CEO Graham Fountain.

“The program is commensurate with CAMS strategic direction to foster the development of young drivers.”

Past CAMS Driver Development Program participants include World Rally Championship driver Chris Atkinson, current Formula 3 driver Leanne Tander in addition to Australian Rally Championship contenders including Eli Evans, Glen Raymond and Spencer Lowndes.

Drivers were required to meet specific assessment criteria including age, past driver performance and demonstration of an interest in pursuing a motor sport driving career.

CAMS would like to thank the Australian Sports Commission for its continuing support of the CAMS Driver Development Programs.