McBride Wins CIK Championship

AKA press release

Newcastle’s Hayden McBride has claimed the 2009 Australian CIK Karting Championship after finishing runner-up at the final round held in Queensland over the weekend.

Originally scheduled to be contested at the Ipswich circuit, the final day of competition was moved to the nearby Toowoomba circuit after track conditions were deemed unsafe yesterday afternoon.

Throughout today’s action McBride battled with tyre issues, believed to have been instigated by the condition of the Ipswich circuit yesterday, and finished well off the pace during the heat races.

Luckily for McBride he was able to take advantage of the second set of allocated Dunlop tyres and showed some strong pace to finish runner-up to his Gillard team-mate John Grother in both finals.

“It is a big relief to get through and win the championship,” said McBride.

“My tyres were pretty much worn out after qualifying and the opening heat, I think due to the Ipswich track surface torturing them. I’ve never seen a track like we saw yesterday.”

During today’s finals McBride was engaged in a hard fought battle with fellow championship contenders Tyson Pearce and Simon Roberts along with CIK debutant Matthew Waters while Grother cleared off into the distance.

“All year myself, Tyson and Robbo have had some great battles and today was no different,” said McBride.

“At the end of last year I had almost made the decision to retire from the sport but this year’s CIK Championship has certainly rejuvenated my enthusiasm for the sport and I’m already looking forward to next year.

“Special thanks must go to Paul Gallo and Kristian Hanley of Gillard Karts along with my mechanic Dave Keary. Without the assistance of these guys and the team at RJ doors, this year would not have been possible.”

McBride finished the four round championship on 249 points, 16 clear of Pearce in the runner-up spot.

Pearce’s championship chase was all but over when he encountered an engine issue in the second heat race. The Omega pilot would eventually finish five points clear of Roberts in the standings.

Final Championship Standings
1. Hayden McBride 249
2. Tyson Pearce 233
3. Simon Roberts 228
4. Ryan Gallagher 199
5. Peter Hollings 195
6. Damian Radosevic 178
7. Matthew Erdman 175
8. Mitchell Cunningham 165
9. John Grother 135
10. Matt Bailey 76
11. Steven Scoble 55
12. David Whitmore 49
13. Brendan Nelson 42
14. Anthony Vince 40
15. Matthew Waters 36
16. Jason Varley 33