Hard Fought Championships In Tasmania

from karting.net.au

The sport of karting was a real winner in the Smithton region over the weekend with some of the best competitors from all across the country taking to the circuit in the 2009 Tall Timbers Hotel/Motel Tasmanian Championships.

Of the 14 categories contested local Tasmanian competitors claimed the top prize in five of them.

Victorian Aaron Johnstone was the standout performer for the mainland visitors by taking out both the Senior National Light and Heavy Championship in his debut as a senior competitor.

Above: Victorian Aaron Johnstone was the only driver to win two classes
pic: photowagon.com.au

Hobart’s Mark Brown appeared set to challenge Johnstone for the win in the Heavy division, however, when he failed to finish the pre-final he was forced to start the championship final from the rear of the grid. Brown drove a superb race to claim the runner-up spot but it was Johnstone who claimed the glory.

The Portland-based Johnstone also finished fourth in the Clubman Heavy category, that was won by Chris Halewsorth over ex-pat Tasmanian Jarrod Bishop.

In the fastest Junior category contested over the weekend, Junior Clubman, the pace was frantic at the front of the field. Launceston-born Australian Champion Chris Hays led the early running of the final with Victorians Jarrod Egan and Jordan Ford shadowing his every move.

The trio ran in a close proximity for the duration of the championship final, swapping positions lap after lap, before Ford took the lead with four laps remaining and drove on to victory.

Queensland-based Kiwi Scott McLaughlin was the pacesetter all weekend in the Clubman Light category and at the end of an action-packed final he once again emerged on top. Finishing second behind McLaughlin was Tasmanian’s Trent Palmer and Matthew Distoll.

Above: Launceston driver Zane Wyatt dominated Leopard Light
pic: photowagon.com.au

Above: Clubman Light winner Scott McLaughlin
pic: photowagon.com.au

2009 Tall Timbers Hotel/Motel Tasmanian Karting Championships

Full results on mylaps.com HERE.

Leopard Light
1. Zane Wyatt (Tas)
2. Dion Wyllie (Tas)
3. Luke Sapwell (Tas)

Rotax Heavy
1. Waylon Sims (Tas)
2. Brodie Coulson (Tas)
3. Harley Aitken (Tas)

Clubman Super Heavy

1. Sam Harrington (Tas)
2. Phil Straughen (Vic)
3. Dean Harragon (Tas)

Clubman Heavy
1. Chris Halesworth (Vic)
2. Jarred Bishop (WA)
3. Sam Harrington (Tas)

Clubman Light
1. Scott McLaughlin (Qld)
2. Trent Palmer (Tas)
3. Matthew Distill (Tas)

Over 40s Heavy
1. Dale Madden (Tas)
2. Tony Reilly (Tas)
3. Graham Hoar (Tas)

Over 40s Light
1. Steven Crocker (Tas)
2. Peter O'Neill (NSW)
3. Alan Harragon (Tas)

Senior National Heavy
1. Aaron Johnstone (Vic)
2. Mark Brown (Tas)
3. Jonathan Males (Tas)

Senior National Light
1. Aaron Johnstone (Vic)
2. Mitchell Evans (Tas)
3. Jay Bailey (Tas)

Junior Clubman
1. Jordan Ford (Vic)
2. Jarrod Egan (Vic)
3. Chris Hays (Qld)

Junior National Heavy
1. Ashley Quiddington (Vic)
2. Daniel Oosthuizen (NSW)
3. Danton Evans (Tas)

Junior National Light
1. Brad Jenner (Vic)
2. Liam Morey (Vic)
3. Justin Francis (Vic)

1. Jordan Boys (Vic)
2. Mitch Wilson (Vic)
3. Liam McLellan (Vic)

1. Reece Sidebottom (Vic)
2. Alexander Peroni (Tas)
3. Zane Morse (ACT)


© kartsportnews.com