Junior Competition Returns To Australian CIK Championships

AKA press release

Australian junior karters will have their own elite championship in 2010 with the return of junior competition to the Australian CIK Championship next year.

To be run across four rounds on the Eastern Seaboard, the 2010 Australian CIK Championship will not only incorporate the KF2 (formerly Intercontinental A), KZ2 (formerly Intercontinental C) categories and but also the KF3 (formerly Junior Intercontinental A) class.

Above: Junior competition will return to the Australian CIK Championship in 2010 (Pic:KSP)

In the past the KF3 category has assisted in developing some of Australia's top young drivers with some of the former champions including Ryan Briscoe, Michael Caruso, Tim Slade, Christian Jones, Andrew Thompson and Adam Graham.

"When the CIK Championship returned this year for the first time in five years with the KF2 specification engine the aim for 2010 was always for an elite junior class to follow shortly after, and I'm proud to say that this is happening," said series organiser Peter Galvin.

While racing under similar technical regulations to those used in Europe, series organisers are implementing a number of measures to promote the competitiveness of the series at efficient budgetary levels.

One of the measures that series organisers will be implementing is the use of a single-make KF3 engine, to be used in the series for a minimum of three years from 2010 - 2012. The engine that has been chosen is the 2010 specification RAV 125 engine made by Vortex to be made available for purchase through the AKA.

"We believe the most appropriate way to re-launch the elite junior category in this country is by ensuring there is parity between competitors but still allowing them to gain the full experience of driving a real-spec KF3 engine at a realistic price," said Galvin.

"The IKC (International Karting Council who are in control of the series) looked at a number of options on how the KF3 category would best work in Australian conditions. It has been proven by the KF2 category that the one engine option is the most appropriate way to go for Australia."

The Vortex KF3 engine has been one of the leading engines many major events throughout Europe since the introduction of the new CIK Kart Formula regulations were implemented. In the recent Monaco Kart Cup, Vortex engines were used almost half of the competitors in the 31-kart KF3 field.

The engine package comes complete with Vortex KF3 engine, homologated exhaust, carburetor, airbox, radiator, hoses and wiring loom for the price of AU$3,900.00+GST.

Like the senior categories the junior class will use Dunlop tyres, the juniors will use the slightly harder compound DDM specification rather than the DDS to be used in the KF2 category.

Competitors looking to find out further details regarding the regulations on the KF3 category or secure their engine should contact Peter Galvin on 0433 042 900.

About the Australian CIK Championship
The CIK (Commission Internationale de Karting) is the specialised Karting commission of the FIA, the governing body of world motor sport.

The Australian CIK Championship is the elite level of karting competition in the country.

Competitors in the Championship utilise equipment similar to that used in the European and World Championships in each of the three categories KF2, KZ2 and KF3. Karting is one of only four motor sport disciplines that enjoy an FIA World Championship.

The 2010 series will be run over four rounds with the opening round in Newcastle (March 5-7) followed by Ipswich (May 7-9), Sydney's Eastern Creek (June 18-20) ahead of the finale at Melbourne's Todd Road circuit on August 6-8.

Running in conjunction with the championship will be the Clubman and Junior National categories where competitors will be vying for the honour of becoming the East Coast Title holder. There will also be another 'local' class contested at each of the rounds.

Former Champions of the Australian CIK Series include V8 Supercar Champion Jamie Whincup, Mark Winterbottom, Ryan Briscoe, Michael Caruso, Tim Slade, Troy Hunt, Andrew Thompson, Phillip Scifleet and Christian Jones.


© kartsportnews.com