Preview: SA State Championships

AKA press release

Three hundred of the best kart racers from around the country will be heading to South Australia’s Bolivar Raceway to contest the Dunlop South Australian Open Sprint Kart Championships next weekend (November 27-29).

This weekend’s championship will be the largest karting event held in South Australia since the National Championships were held at the Bolivar venue in 2006.

With 15 categories being contested, catering for a variety weight divisions and engine capacities drivers from as young as seven through to those on the other side of 50 will be in action.

Two of the largest entry categories at next weekend’s event will be the Rookies and Junior National Light classes where local drivers are expected to figure prominently.

Fresh from a victory in the recent City of Adelaide titles, Rhys Wooley will start as one of the favourites in the Rookies category but he will face tough opposition from fellow locals Tyler Morrison along with interstate visitors Andreas Chronis, Jordan Boys and Lachlan McHugh next weekend.

Over the past few years Athelstone driver Todd Hazelwood has emerged as one of the top young drivers in the country. Next weekend will be his time to shine when he is set to tackle some of the best drivers from all across the country in the Junior National Light category on his home track.

In the senior ranks the locals will be invaded by some of Australia’s most experienced karters, including nine-time National Champion Matthew Wall from Victoria, Scott Simpson from the Gold Coast, Sydney’s Jason Hryniuk and West Aussie Steven Scoble, who took out the Clubman Light crown at the same venue two years ago.

Qualifying will begin on Friday (Nov 27) followed by the heat races on Saturday (Nov 28) and the Championship finals on Sunday (Nov 29).

The Bolivar Raceway is located on Summer Road, just off Port Wakefield Road, Bolivar.

The entry list was posted in the News on Wednesday Nov 18.