kartsportnews.com kart racing website

Vic Country Series Rnd 2

press release

Racers from all over Australia converged on the newly enhanced Warrnambool facilities for Round 2 of the Victorian Country Series on the weekend.

The Warrnambool club has worked tirelessly to build a new toilet and shower block while the car park was extended which was welcomed by all who attended.

On a Volunteer side, there was a regular stream of volunteers who worked tirelessly throughout the weekend. A big thank you to everybody from the stewards to tyre markers that contributed to running the meeting. Many thanks to the canteen helpers, the people that ran the grid, the scales shed and the judges box, and a special thanks to the Warrnambool Lions Club who had to endure another weekend of extreme weather as flag marshals.

On a technical side we were asked to run control fuel. A rumour started that the control fuel had water in it because it was turning white. It was found that the plastic containers were the cause of this.

With the weather proving to be unpredictable, 182 drivers persisted and contested the 16 classes on offer. While the weather for practice on Saturday was mild with sun at times, track conditions were largely dry. Conditions for racing on Sunday were vastly different. It poured rain during Sunday morning’s carbie session which left the track damp for most of Heat 1. Heat 2 saw a drying track and overcast conditions, while the final was mostly dry with the exception of the Rookie final where we experienced a brief deluge.

Full results on mylaps.com HERE.

17 drivers aged between the ages of seven and ten contested the Midget class on Sunday with the event results as follows:

  1. Chase Wooley
  2. Dylan Hollis
  3. Reece Sidebottom

A sudden change of weather in the middle of the final caught a few drivers out. However only 4 from the 24 drivers lost control in the unexpected slippery conditions.

  1. Jake Dixon
  2. Will Hawkes
  3. Jordan Holowell

Junior National Light

  1. Damon Strongman
  2. Jake Klein
  3. Justin Francis

Junior National Heavy
A close finish in Heat 2 proved very entertaining for the spectators watching the days JNH racing. Jordan Nicolau was determined to prove a point displaying his new Australian #1 plate.

  1. Anton De Pasquale
  2. Todd Hazelwood
  3. Jordan Nicolau

Junior performance

  1. Luke Bergens
  2. Harley Benson
  3. Reece Bloomfield

Senior National Light
Only four points separated first and second at the end of the day

  1. Ash Quiddington
  2. Josh Tapscott
  3. Andrew Rae

Senior National Heavy
Close racing between the SNP drivers saw many three-wide moments and a three-wide finish to Heat 2 to contest second position.

  1. Ash Quiddington
  2. Josh Tapscottt
  3. Andrew Rae

125 Restricted
The 125 Restricted class was hotly contested by the Watson family from Geelong, finishing 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 6th in Heat 1

  1. Lyndon Watson               
  2. Glenn Croxford
  3. Emily Watson

Rotax Heavy
Rotax Heavy was eagerly awaited by Warrnambool members with their drivers sure to put up a fight on the home track.

  1. Corey McCullagh
  2. Broe Shiells
  3. Josh Willet

Junior Clubman

  1. Simon Hodge
  2. Anton DePasquale
  3. Todd Hazelwood

Clubman Light

  1. Tyler McDonald
  2. Tony Marakis
  3. Hayden Renshaw

Clubman Heavy

  1. Brendan McGinniskin
  2. Scott King
  3. Mathew Crane

Clubman Super Heavy
Only four points separated second and third at the end of the day

  1. Scott Ferguson
  2. Mick Angwin
  3. Andrew Hayes

Clubman Over 40’s
Two wins for the day saw Leon Forrest ahead on points

  1. Leon Forrest
  2. Ken Lampard
  3. Mark Cottrell

Leopard Light
Warrnambool’s Dale Beaton come off the back of a Nationals win last week and was keen to defend his title. He finished 4th.

  1. Mathew McRae
  2. Ben Kilsby
  3. Owen Perry

Leopard Heavy

  1. Trevor Handley
  2. Michael Seeary
  3. Kevin Crante

The next round of the Victorian Country Series will be held at South-West Kart Club, Cobden, on 23rd May 2010. Entries via www.victoriancountryseries.com


© kartsportnews.com