Superkart Nationals - Hossack Leads Early

from Mark Jones

With everyone out to play at last for the 2010 Dunlop Australian Superkart Championship, 2008 Champion Darren Hossack made the first statement of the day with a 1:34.6484 lap time in the Safe Evolutions Anderson-SAFE.

Second and third are Sam Zavaglia Racing Stockman Suprkarts team mates Sam Zavaglia (SZR Stockman-Honda) and Trevor Roberts (Demon Tweeks / Nilfisk Stockman-Yamaha). In Zavaglia's first laps for the weekend he recorded a 1:35.4397 ahead of Roberts on 1:36.1599.

Yianni Harpas (Internode / Davtec Zip-BRC) was fourth fastest but received the bad sportsmanship flag during the session which was halted for two karts stopped on the outside of MG Corner. PVP made progress with Carlo Chermaz (Buildersmile Construction PVP) and Poul Petersen (Smash Solutions PVP) dropping into fifth and seventh fastest with Warren McIlveen (Soundy's Tamworth Stockman-Honda) in between. Rounding out the top ten were Anton Stevens ( PVP), Chryss Jamieson (Coach Design Anderson-Honda) and Kristian Stebbing (Suburban Accounting Stockman-Honda).

In the 250 National division, Luke May slapped down a 1:43.5152 in the Velocity Management Anderson-KTM to lead the class by 1.5 seconds over David Yuill in the Crispy Racing / Aardvark Polishing Anderson-Honda. Young gun Brendan Ludeman is third fastest in the Seaford Truck Refinishers Anderson.

Jeff Reed (Cycle City / Stockman Superkarts Stockman-Honda) leads the 125cc division with a 1:45.9194 by over two seconds over Anthony Lappas (Stockman-Honda) with Tim Philp (Floth Sustainable Building Consultants Stockman-Honda) third fastest.

Times sheets are available at Natsoft