Treseder, Fothergill & Lehane Winners At CIK Round 2

press release

Bundaberg’s Kel Treseder broke through for his maiden victory in the CIK Stars of Karting Series in Ipswich, Queensland at the weekend.

Competing in the Pro Gearbox (KZ2) category Treseder took the win ahead of Victorian Troy Woolston and Sunshine Coast racer Kyle Ensbey, who was making his debut in Australia’s elite karting series.

cik kartstars ipswich 2010
Above: Kel Treseder leading Matt Wall in Pro Gearbox (KZ2)

After lining up alongside rising star Chris Hays, who won the opening 25-lap final, on the front row of the grid for the second final it was Treseder who got the jump at the start.

Hays, renown for his impressive starts over the weekend in his Vodafone-backed Tony Kart, made a terrible start dropping to near the back of the field on the opening lap. On lap two his race went from bad to worse when he came together with William Yarwood and Hays gyrated his machine leaving him to watch from the sidelines.

Woolston shadowed Treseder’s Kel’s Karts and Parts IAME-powered CRG kart during the early running but it wasn’t long before Treseder began to show superior speed and open a race winning lead.

At the chequered flag Treseder crossed the line almost one second clear of Woolston in his CC Racing Arrow Kart while Ensbey claimed third place in his KAOS Karting Arrow Kart after a race long battle with Matthew Wall, Jordie Lindstrom and Jason Pringle.

Above: KZ2 podium

“After finishing second in the opening round I came into this weekend with some confidence, I had some good speed all weekend, so it is good to transfer this speed into a win,” said Treseder.

“It was disappointing to see (Chris) Hays on the sidelines as he was certainly been one of the pacesetters all weekend, it would have been good to have enjoyed a battle with him.

“Full credit must go to Troy (Woolston) he kept me honest in the final, it wasn’t easy out there.

“I feel as though I’m really coming to grips with this Gearbox kart, I’m continuing to improve everytime I hit the track and having more fun than I've ever had during my karting career.”

As a result of his performance in the two finals Treseder was also crowned the Queensland Pro Gearbox (KZ2) Champion and took over the lead in the chase for the CIK Stars of Karting Title.

In the Pro Light (KF1) category it was Cian Fothergill (Gladstone, QLD) who continued his sensational run of form to once again win both main events for the second consecutive round.

The Tracksa Racing pilot was challenged by defending champion Hayden McBride and Tony Kart driver Joel Smith during both 25-lap encounters as the trio cleared off from the chasing pack.

Above: Pro Light (KF1) winner Cian Fothergill during his victory lap

After running in close proximity during the early laps Fothergill showed superior pace to draw clear and win both races to extend his lead in the championship.

McBride finished in second place ahead of a fast finishing Grant Smith, who claimed third after starting from 12th spot on the grid.

Smith was followed across the line by his younger brother, and Tony Kart Australia team-mate, Joel with John Grother rounding out the top five.

Fothergill, who’s double victory also earned him the Queensland Pro Light (KF1) title, is now 35 points clear at the top of the championship points table with 168 points. McBride is second on 133 followed by Joel Smith (119), Damien Radosevic (111) and Grant Smith (110).

Above: Two Pro Light (KF1) wins in a row for Cian Fothergill

New South Wales (Castle Hill) driver Pierce Lehane won his second straight round in the Pro Junior (KF3) category, however, this weekend’s victory wasn’t as easy as his opening round win.

Local driver (Forest Lake, QLD) teenager Brock Plumb provided a serious challenge to the championship leader all throughout the weekend. Such was the pace shown by Plumb in his Birel kart that he won the opening final today ahead of Jonathan Venter (Beecroft, NSW) and Gold Coaster James Macken.

After making a rare mistake in the opening final, Lehane went on to dominate the second race of the day to finish well clear of Plumb. Western Australian Jake Klarich (Perth, WA) drove a strong race to record a career best third place finish behind Lehane and Plumb.

As a result of his first and second placing in the pair of finals Plumb secured the Queensland State Championship.

The results in the Pro Junior (KF3) category remain provisional due to a non-racing incident.

Above: KF3 winner Pierce Lehane

In the Development categories it was local drivers Ben Stewart, Brendan Nelson and Jason Burns who filled the podium in the Clubman category. Fifth place was enough for Sydney CRG driver Jason Hryniuk to take over the points lead in the chase for the East Coast Title, five points clear of fellow New South Welshman Daniel Baker.

Daisy Hill (Brisbane, QLD) youngster James Foster got the upper hand following a titanic battle over Troy Morrisey and Chris Corbett to win Junior National. Opening round winner Breanna Woodland (Newcastle, NSW) remains on top of the East Coast Title points table on 125, one point clear of Mitchell Gee.

Matt Greenbury (Toowoomba, QLD) claimed the win in the Queensland Formula 100 Cup ahead of Trent Mercer and Tyler Greenbury.

The next round of the CIK Stars of Karting Series will be hosted by the North Shore Kart Club at the Eastern Creek circuit on June 18-20.

For the full results, click HERE.

Above: Local driver Brock Plumb leads a group in KF3

Above: Western Australian driver Jake Klarich on his way to third place during the second final at Ipswich

Above: Ben Stewart was victorious in the Clubman category

Above: James Foster took a narrow victory in the Junior National category

Top Ten after Round 2 of 4

Pro Light (KF1)
1. Cian Fothergill 168
2. Hayden McBride 133
3. Joel Smith 119
4. Damien Radosevic 111
5. Grant Smith 110
6. Anthony Vince 99
7. Matthew Waters 98
8. Matthew Bailey 95
9. John Grother 93
10. Simon Roberts 93

Pro Gearbox (KZ2)
1. Kel Treseder 147
2. Troy Woolston 135
3. Matthew Wall 135
4. Christopher Hays 126
5. Jason Pringle 106
6. Fergus Symes 101
7. Jordie Lindstorm 100
8. Lee Mitchener 99
9. Elle Bryden 89
10. Kyle Ensbey 60

Pro Junior (KF3)
1. Pierce Lehane 157
2. Brock Plumb 133
3. Jonathon Venter 130
4. Aidan Wright 111
5. Jackson Delamont 110
6. James Macken 110
7. Jacob Parsons 99
8. Jake Klarich 96
9. Trent Grubel 91
10. Scott May 85


1. Jason Hryniuk 130
2. Daniel Baker 125
3. Matthew Waters 122
4. Nathan Tigani 108
5. Thomas Phillips 106
6. Brenton Simonds 101
7. Brendan Nelson 100
8. Kayne Hughes 87
9. Matthew Goddard 86
10. Ben Stewart 80

Junior National
1. Breanna Woodland 125
2. Mitchell Gee 124
3. Christopher Corbett 122
4. Dylan Higgins 117
5. Philip Munnerley 115
6. Dale Corbett 96
7. Dimitri Agathos 76
8. James Foster 75
9. Benjamin Harm 69
10. Troy Morrisey 59