Sensational Racing At Canberra 7-Hour

press release - results on mylaps HERE

Sensational was the best way to describe the racing that was showcased during last Sunday’s (May 16) ‘Canberra 7 Hour’ at the Fairbairn Park Kart Track, near Canberra in the A.C.T, for the fourth round of the Powered by Honda ProKart Australia NSW Endurance Kart Championship.

At the completion of the ‘Canberra 7 Hour’ it was defending National and NSW Champions # 1 Jets Motorsports that came out on top in what was their third victory from four rounds in this year’s NSW Championship.

Heading into the ‘Canberra 7 Hour’ the # 1 Jets Motorsport team were determined to bounce back into victory lane after a horror run at the previous round, the ‘Windsor 6 Hour’, and that was exactly what they managed to achieve. Although there was a bit of luck involved; the # 1 Jets Motorsport, who had been docked with two separate stop / go penalties throughout the ‘Canberra 7 Hour’, claimed the winning spoils and finished ahead of # 2 SC Racing and # 71 KBC Racing in second and third, who all finished on the same lap of 623.

The hard luck story of the ‘Canberra 7 Hour’ was without a doubt the # 2 SC Racing team. They had held down a lead of a lap over their nearest rival and looked at short odds to take out the victory honours; however a mistake by their driver after he had pitted unnecessarily after he thought that his kart had developed troubles and it cost them the victory. This consequently stripped them of the lead and dropped them back to third once they had returned back to the track.

With the mistake of the # 2 SC Racing team it then threw the ‘Canberra 7 Hour’ up for grabs in the closing stages with the lead handed over to the # 1 Jets Motorsport team with a close following # 71 KBC Racing in second and the # 2 SC Racing team back in third. The remaining laps of the ‘Canberra 7 Hour’ saw the # 1 Jets Motorsport team pace the field, while an aggressive late pass by a recovering # 2 SC Racing team on the # 71 KBC Racing saw them move into second and stay there all the way through to the fall of the chequered flag. Due to the contact from the # 2 SC Racing team, the # 71 KBC Racing team suffered front end damage and it denied them of challenging for the victory honours and they held on to complete the podium in third place.

In fourth place was the # 777 Horsepower Racing (619 laps) and they were followed home by # 66 Team Kaos (617 laps), who recorded the fastest lap of the ‘Canberra 7 Hour’, # 21 Walkos Racing (616 laps), # 59 Shire Racing 2 (600 laps), the Canberra based # 212 CJ Racing (590 laps), # 37 Shire Racing (590 laps) and in 10th place was # 41 Kartatak Racing (585 laps).

The # 1 Jets Motorsport team earlier in the event had topped the time sheets in qualifying with a 37.437 second laps around the 730 metre Fairbairn Park Kart Track ahead of # 2 SC Racing and # 66 Team Kaos and started on pole position the for ‘Canberra 7 Hour’.

The fifth round of the NSW Championship is going to be held on Sunday, July 18 at Wollongong City Raceway, near Kembla Grange on the South Coast of NSW, for the ‘Wollongong 12 Hour’.