City Of Adelaide Titles

press release

Last weekend saw 164 entries in 14 classes, converge on Southern Go Kart Club to run the 2010 City of Adelaide Titles.

The club celebrated its 50th Anniversary this year and the weekend was used as the official celebration. With a healthy number of interstate drivers from Northern Territory and Victoria making the trip, the celebrations were capped off with a spit roast dinner and band on Saturday night.

 The Pro Classes made a triumphant return after a years' absence, with Junior National Pro, Leopard Pro and the always popular Clubman Pro battle out the weekend for $2,000 in prize money each.

Leopard Pro saw Scott Kissock and Paul Pittam battle out for the top two placings all weekend. The infamous Turn 1 didn't disappoint the spectators with a massive tangle between 6 karts. This left local young gun Matt McRae sitting at the back of the field after starting 3rd. McRae superbly made is way through the field to finish 3rd. Pittam put everything he and his Omega had into catching Kissock, but time ran out and Kissock took the win from Pittam. Jedd Stojakovic was 4th and Ross Miller was fifth and the last kart to finish the final.

Junior National Pro had great presence with 17 drivers. Simon Hodge, Todd Hazelwood, Cameron Reynolds and Jake Spokes were the four to beat all weekend. Spokes having the unfortunate task of starting rear of grid for the Final due to an infringement in the Pre-Final which he finished 3rd. Spokes made a sterling effort to storm his way through the field, making up 10 places by around half race distance. Unfortunately there just wasn't enough available for Spokes to get through, finishing 4th, behind Reynolds, Hodge and Hazelwood.

Twenty Drivers lined up for the always sensational Clubman Pro and sensational it was. Heat 2 on Saturday saw some on track aggression between Rocco Ventra and Royce Nott on several occasions within a matter of laps. Coming into the left hand Dublin Sweeper, contact was made between the two and then a couple laps later contact again was made in the Liberty Esses with Nott coming off second best. Both failed to finish the Heat.

As the final approached, it looked liked no one could beat Matthew Panella, who had Pole ahead of Paul Pittam and Omega Racing's Tyson Pearce, who made an appearance for the event and early on in the weekend looked to be the one to upstage Panella in the Final. Several lead changes between Panella and Pittam in the Final kept the spectators on their toes. Eventually the battle for the minor placings between, Pittam, Pearce, Ventra saw them hold each other up and Panella charged away. Pittam was unable to catch him, with Panella finishing ahead of Pittam, Ventra, Aaron Wilamowski and Pearce.

Other class winners were: Tyler Morrison (Rookies), Simon Layne (Sportsman 125 Heavy), Mark Lunn (Sportsman SA), Jake Spokes (Junior National Light), Chase Wooley (Midgets), Mathhew Panella (Clubman Light), Darryl Tolmer (Clubman Heavy), Michael Yeo (Sportsman 125 Light), Todd Hazelwood (Junior Clubman), Matthew Adam (Restricted 125 Combined) and Darryl Tolmer (Clubman Over 40's).

The club would also like to thank with much appreciation, Jim & Debbie Lester, Kym Hannam, Craig Evans, Dave Brewer Jnr, Brian Edwards, Michael Smith, Arnie Oxford, Andrew Locke, Craig Denton, Simon Layne from Liberty Oils, Sparky & Sarah Marquis from Mollydooker Wines, Remo Luciani from Remo Racing, Les May from Dunlop, Out N About “Your Mobile Mechanic, Omega Racing Karts Australia, Ultra Tune Unley, Tolmer Earthmoving, TD Racing, Best Point, Adelaide Kart Supplies, inspect-a-gadget, Lester Racing, Crystal Paving, King’s Baptist Grammar School, Kustom Karts, Lightning Karts, & Bill Miller Plumbing.

Also, the Ladies in the canteens, Officials, Race Day Volunteers and St Johns Volunteers and you the Karters, Pit Crews, Families and Friends for helping Southern Go Kart Club celebrate our 50th Anniversary here at Bolivar at the 2010 City of Adelaide Titles.

Footage of all Finals will soon be available on

city of adelaide titles - results 2010
city of adelaide titles - results 2010
city of adelaide titles - results 2010
city of adelaide titles - results 2010
city of adelaide titles - results 2010
city of adelaide titles - results 2010