Rotax Euro Champions & Driver Quotes

Rotax Senior Max
1 – Joey Van Splunteren                  Netherlands                         Gillard                   DFK
2 – Edward Brand                               Great Britain                       Birel                        Kalman Motorsport
3 – Mats Van den Brand                  Netherlands                         Tonykart                Strawberry Racing

Joey Van Splunteren [NED] – DFK/Gillard - “Well, it doesn’t feel like I’ve won this yet. Over the whole weekend we just watched Tom Fawcett seeing that he could still take the title. Friday we had a bit of a problem, then Saturday we tried a lot of things with the set-up and Sunday with new tyres it just wasn’t quick enough. In the pre-final I had a bad start when I was pushed around, but I came through from P23 to 7th. When I overtook Fawcett, I was thinking already that I was the champion. In the final I drove three laps and had some contact with another kart, so I came in because I didn’t need to race. Thanks to everybody who supported me; Tim at DFK/Gillard and all the team, my mechanic and my dad.” 

rotax euro champions 2010
Above: 2010 SENIOR MAX CHAMPION Joey van Splunteren didn’t have the pace to beat the time of the fastest qualifier #208 Karol Dabski, but three podiums from four rounds of the championship was good enough to give Van Splunteren the best chance of taking the European Senior Max title in 2010, which he sealed in Sunday’s pre-final at Genk
pic - Bas Kaligis / RGMMC Media

Rotax Junior Max
1 – Joel Affolter                                  Netherlands                         Tonykart                Strawberry Racing
2 – Jack Aitken                                   Great Britain                       Gillard                   Protrain Racing
3 – Jack Barlow                                 Great Britain                       Tonykart                Strawberry Racing

Joel Affolter [NED] – Strawberry Racing/Tonykart - “It means very much to me to win and I have to thank the whole team at Strawberry Racing for doing a good job to help me. It’s a little bit strange to be the European Champion right now - maybe tomorrow I’ll feel like it’s real! At the beginning of the year we were aiming for a top 5, but after almost winning round 1 in Salbris we were going for the Euro title. I’m looking forward to the Grand Finals now”

rotax euro champions 2010
Above: 2010 JUNIOR MAX CHAMPIONS PODIUM, 2 – Jack Aitken (GBR), 1 – Joel Affolter (NED) & 3 – Jack Barlow (GBR). Trophies presented by Christian Mundigler (BRP Rotax) & Roland Geidel (RGMMC)
pic - Bas Kaligis / RGMMC Media

Rotax Max Masters
1 – Christophe Adams                      Belgium                                 Tonykart                Sporting Kart Competition
2 – Mikko Laine                                  Finland                                  Parolin                   mKart Team/SFP Racing
3 – Florent Lambert                           Great Britain                       Tonykart                Tatum Racing

Christophe Adams [BEL] – Sporting Kart Competition/Tonykart - “Winning the European Championship for the first time means a lot to; it’s just a shame that there aren’t more drivers in the Masters. Here in Genk I’m very fast – or the others are slower! I’m used to driving with the younger drivers, so I think it helps me be more competitive. I won, so I’m happy with the result and want to say thanks to my new team Sporting Kart Competition. Now, I hope to win again at the Rotax Grand Finals to take my third world title.”

rotax euro champions 2010
Above: Christophe Adams was unbeatable on his home track at Genk, taking pole in qualifying, winning all three heats and both of Sunday’s finals to become the round 4 winner and 2010 European Max Masters Champion. As part of his prize, he received an invitation to the Rotax Grand Finals in Italy this November, where he will be able to defend his 2009 World title.
pic - Bas Kaligis / RGMMC Media

Rotax DD2                   
1 – Andreas Jensen                           Denmark                              First Kart               First Kart s.r.l
2 – Patrick Pearce                             Great Britain                       Maddox                VZ Racing
3 – Maik Barten                                   Netherlands                         Haase                    Target Kart Racing Team

Andreas Jensen [DEN] – First Kart s.r.l/First Kart - “I honestly didn’t think I’d be the champion at the start of the season and I was probably happy to finish in the top 10, as it is my first year in the Rotax DD2. The racing’s been fantastic all the way through the series with fair drivers like Patrick Pearce and many of the others who are really good to race with. I want to say thanks to my sponsor 7-Technologies, First Kart, Guldborg Racing and my family.”

rotax euro champions 2010
Above: 2010 ROTAX DD2 CHAMPIONS PODIUM, 2 – Patrick Pearce (GBR), 1 – Andreas Jensen (DEN) & 3 – Maik Barten (NED)
pic - Bas Kaligis / RGMMC Media

Rotax DD2 Masters                  
1 – Dennis Kroes                                 Netherlands                         Tonykart                Team Kroes
2 – Christophe Adams                      Belgium                                 Tonykart                Sporting Kart Competition
3 – Carl Cleirbaut                               Belgium                                 Maddox                VZ Racing

Dennis Kroes [NED] – Team Kroes/Tonykart - I want to thank my mechanic Chris Groen and all the other members of Team Kroes. It’s my third time winning the European Championship at Genk and I hope to do well in La Conca at the Rotax Max Challenge Grand Finals because I won the world title there in 2008. It’s a special feeling to be driving in the Haase chassis as well in the new DD2 Masters class seeing that I won me previous European titles on the Haase kart.                 

rotax euro champions 2010
Above: Former DD2 Masters World number 1 Dennis Kroes (NED) succeeded in winning the category at round 3 maintaining his lead in championship in the latest class to be introduced at the Rotax Grand Finals in 2010. He finished 9th in the DD2 final Sunday ahead of #651 Tamsin Germain in 10th, who was 2nd in the Masters.
pic - Bas Kaligis / RGMMC Media