North European Trophies To Joyner and Olsen

CIK-FIA press release

Long absent from the international scene as an organiser, Great Britain is taking again a liking for hosting major Karting competitions. The PF International Circuit, dear to Paul Fletcher, and the local organising Club, the TVKC, deem it a privilege to have the opportunity to receive CIK-FIA-sanctioned events and show dedication and motivation that make it pleasant for everyone to travel to the green Albion. To the quality of its organising faculty demonstrated in 2010 and 2011 PFi wants to add in the coming months an extension of its track : its course will be increased from 1,070 to over 1,200 metres.

Above: Tom Joyner, North European KF2 Trophy winner

At PF, North European Competitors – and a few Drivers from outside Europe – faced the difficult task of obtaining their qualification to the European Championship proper, which is scheduled for 24 July at Zuera in Spain.

The North European Trophies (the South European Trophies were simultaneously held in France) have rewarded Tom Joyner in KF2 and Dennis Olsen in KF3.

Author of the fastest qualifying practice time and leader further to the heats, with three wins in four races, the Briton Joyner landed the FK2 A-final. Initially red-flagged as a result of a multiple pile-up after the start, that final proved very closely-fought. Sam Snell was the first to take the lead before giving in to the Dane Max Klinkby-Silver and then to Finland’s Teemu Petjoy. Klinkby-Silver retaliated four laps later and took back the lead for an eight-lap spell until he had to recognise Tom Joyner’s superiority.

Although victory went to a British Driver, the nation which made the biggest impression in KF2 was Denmark, five representatives of which are classified in the Top 10 (two of them stepping on the podium, with Klinkby-Silver, second, and Kevin Rossel, third). In one of the qualifying heats Denmark even managed to have a stranglehold on the first five places!

In KF3, Norway’s Dennis Olsen prevailed over the Dane Lasse Sorensen, the Finn Aatu Moilanen and the Dutch lady Driver Kim Oomen. Fighting for second place, Britain’s Harrison Scott and the Dutchman Max Verstappen (who previously won all his heats) both retired in the last lap because of a collision.