All Star Series, Round 2

The second round of the Victorian based All Star Series was run at the GKCV's Todd Road circuit at Port Melbourne over the weekend. 219 entries races across 15 classes.

One of the biggest categories was Open Performance/KZ2. Jason Pringle took a 2 second win ahead of impressive performances by Ben Walter, Macauley Jones and Andrew Budge. Pre-final and opening heat winner Chris Hays DNF'd the final, but did take fastest lap.

The meeting included V8 Supercar driver Jason Bright racing KZ2 aboard his new Kosmic. The former Bathurst winner was having his first race in a kart for 19 years.

After qualifying an impressive 8th, consistent heat results inside the top ten followed. Stalling at the start of the pre-final but him back in the field for the final, eventaully finishing 14th.

“It was a baptism of fire. I’d only done a couple of days testing, but the idea was to go out there and have a bit of fun,” Bright told the website.

“I enjoy driving karts. I think the KZ2 with the shifter is awesome. They are an extremely physical, very busy kart to drive.

"I need to do some testing to make the kart flow a bit better. I will be back for more when my ribs and body have recovered from this weekend!"

jason bright kz2
Above: Former (but now returned!) karter Jason Bright on the grid, chatting with another former karter, Nick Higgins.

Top 3 results are below. Full results on AKA CM:s.

Midgets: 1 Cooper Murray, 2 Dylan Hollis, 3 Jordyn Sinni
Rookies: 1 Thomas Prascevic, 2 Zane Morse, 3 Dylan Adams
Junior National Light: 1 Chelsea, Angelo, 2 Jake Klein, 3 James Golding
Junior National Heavy: 1 Anton DePasquale, 2 Damon Strongman, 3 Nicholas Rowe
Junior Clubman: 1 Anton DePasquale, 2 Kyle Rethus, 3 Luke Walker
Clubman Light: 1 James Sera, 2 Jordan Ford, 3 Jack Wynack
Clubman Heavy: 1 Lee Mitchener, 2 Leigh Nicolaou, 3 Lucas Price
Clubman Over 40s: 1 Chris Sanderson, 2 Peter Gooch, 3 Phillip Smith
Leopard Light: 1 James Sera, 2 Adam Hughes, 3 Adam Willison
Leopard Heavy: 1 Michael Griffiths, 2 Daniel Stein, 3 Remo Luciani
Rotax Light: 1 Daniel Rochford, 2 Darren Anderson, 3 Sam Breen
Rotax Heavy: 1 Rick Pringle, 2 Daniel Stein, 3 Paul Rodgers
Junior MAX: 1 Liam Morey, 2 Mitchell Griffin, 3 Reece Bloomfield
TaG 125 Restricted: 1 Jake Meyland, 2 Michael Ambelas, 3 Stelios Triantafillidis
Open Performance/KZ2: 1 Jason Pringle, 2 Ben Walter, 3 Macauley Jones