Mt Wellington's 51st Anniversary Meeting

press release

Kartsport Mt. Wellington celebrated its 51st Anniversary in the weekend just gone with 90 karters turning up to race over 9 classes with visitors from as far away as Christchurch.

Multiple New Zealand Champion, Hamish Cross turned up to run his two new charges; Spud and Rob Gibsonz of Suzuki Swift fame contested the highly competitive Rotax Light Class. Two Trophy races were also contested, the Neil Sheehan Trophy for Open and the Vera Keesing Memorial for Junior Yamaha.

After a brief shower on Saturday evening, Sunday dawned with barely a cloud in the sky and the beautiful weather continued all day. Brian Waldermeyer and Snow Mooney from Lascom Motorsport kindly agreed to convene and sponsored the meeting with give-aways and days of work leading up to the week. Track records were reset due to the recent inclusion of the new MG Red tender tyres and as a result all have classes have new track record holders.

The pits buzzed with activity Saturday morning and the vibe that has been sadly lacking from recent club events had seemingly returned. The great vibe continued despite two minor incidents needing the ambulance (both drivers were thankfully able to be released after a splash of water and a brief cuddle) and continued on into the night with a colourful prize giving, courtesy of the long absent Peter Wrightson. 

Healthy fields in the Cadet and Junior Restricted as well as a plethora of new faces were signs of both a resurgent club racing scene and a rebounding economy.

The well run and positive event was a good sign for the coming months when Kartsport Mt. Wellington hosts their Club Championships over the Queen’s Birthday Weekend as well as their annual 4 Way Series.

Shaun Grocock took out the Vera Keesing Memorial and Rollo Davies took out the coveted Neil Sheehan in his KF1’s maiden race meeting, his first race meeting on sticky tyres providing a baptism of fire. Nicholas Carpenter was the first Rotax home.


1st Dylan Smith
2nd Amy Smith
3rd Matthew Payne

Unrated Cadet
1st Ben Morrison
2nd Alex Adams
3rd Bailey Cox

Junior Restricted
1st Nathan Reid
2nd Chelsea Herbert
3rd Aaran Crighton

Junior Yamaha
1st. Shaun Grocock
2nd C.J Sinclair
3rd Zachary Coffey

Formula Junior
1st Luke Dobbs
2nd Sam Carpenter
3rd Logan Rogers-Jenkins

Yamaha Light
1st Callum Quin
2nd Jason Butterworth
3rd Bruce Reid

Rotax Max Heavy
1st Aarron Cunningham
2nd Da0vid Waldermeyer
3rd Peter Wrightson

Rotax Max Light
1st Mason Armstrong
2nd Ben Drummond
3rd Ben Kimber

1st John Lovich
2nd Daniel Bray
3rd Rollo Davies

Club Class
1st Todd McCormack
2nd Gary Taylor
3rd James Maddox