concept karting and racegear

More Pro Drivers Confirm For Industry Show Race

press release

In what is shaping up to be a great event, the Indy Karting Classic in conjunction with the International Motorsports Industry Show (IMIS) is happy to confirm three more drivers for participation in the December 11th event. Taking place at the Conseco Fieldhouse in downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, IndyCar drivers Ryan Hunter-Reay and Jay Howard have been added to the docket as well as NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race winner Austin Dillon.

Above: Jay Howard, who won the 2010 Robopong 200 Mile Endurance Race, will see action at Conseco
pic - CreativeWorks/

"Since our announcement last week hit the airwaves, we have had multiple drivers and managers contact us in regards to the Indy Karting Classic," explained Co-Race Promoter Shannon Parks. "We are happy to confirm Ryan, Jay and Austin to compete in the event adding to our already stellar lineup."

Ryan Hunter-Reay and Jay Howard will join fellow IZOD IndyCar drivers Alex Tagliani and Tomas Scheckter in an all-out battle that will position some of open-wheel's best against NASCAR's top dogs competing with equal equipment. With interest starting to peak, the best is yet to come when the drivers hit the track and go wheel-to-wheel in IAME X30 powered racing karts.

Competing the 2011 race season with Andretti Autosport, Ryan Hunter-Reay claimed one race win and four top five finishes on his way to a seventh place finish in the IZOD IndyCar championship. Residing in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, Hunter-Reay looks to get back to Indy and stand atop the podium at the Indy Karting Classic.

Joining Hunter-Reay from the open wheel ranks will be Indianapolis resident Jay Howard. The Indianapolis 500 qualifier and 2006 Firestone Indy Lights (Formerly Indy Pro Series) champion has been seen throughout 2011 at karting and car tracks alike. Competing at Indianapolis, Texas and Las Vegas with Rahal Letterman and Lanigan Racing, Howard was also seen at World Karting Association Manufacturer's Cup, Florida Winter Tour and Superkarts! USA events throughout North America.

Joining Tony Stewart and AJ Allmendinger from the world of NASCAR will be Camping World Truck Series race winner Austin Dillon. Noted as one of the most talented up and coming drivers, the 2010 Camping World Truck Series Rookie of the Year started his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race in early October. Scoring a pair of wins in the truck program this past year, Dillon will make the move to the NASCAR Nationwide Series in 2012.

With Alex Tagliani, Tomas Scheckter, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Jay Howard confirmed from the IZOD IndyCar Series and Tony Stewart, AJ Allmendinger and Austin Dillon set to battle from the NASCAR ranks, look for further driver announcements in the coming weeks as the Indy Karting Classic gets set for its inaugural event in 2011.

Parks continued, "With a host of sponsors to be announced shortly, we are pleased to say that we have signed Terry Riggins as the Race Director. Terry is one of the best the sport has to offer and has been seen at events across North America. I am confident that he will make the Indy Karting Classic a fun, yet safe event for all participants. Welcome to the team Terry."

With the one-day event taking place on Sunday, December 11, 2011, the jam packed day will feature a full slate of practice, qualifying, heat races and main events. With a small entry fee that includes an indoor pit space, oil, fuel and a set of tires, karters will have the opportunity to display their skills in front of a large crowd.