2012 Andrea Margutti Trophy

Held at the Lonato circuit for the first time, and boasting a record number of entrants, the 23rd running of the Andrea Margutti Trophy saw victories for Fabian Federer (CRG, KZ2), Felice Tiene (CRG, KF2), Martin Kodric (FA Kart, KF3) and Logan Sargeant (Tony Kart, 60cc Mini).

Above: One of many photos that can be found on the event's website HERE

Organized by Parma Karting, the event took place on the South Garda Circuit with 225 drivers coming from 33 different countries across the four categories. Due to their wins, Federer, Tiene and Kodric have been awarded a free test of a Formula Abarth formula car with the Emmebi Motorsport team.


The winner in the top performing category, the KZ2, was the Italian Fabian Federer from Sudtirol, on CRG Maxter. He won both the pre-final and the final, showing a clear superiority over his rivals. The CRG official driver, and reigning European Champion, maintained the leading position during the whole final and on the finishing line he preceded Alberto Cavalieri (BRM-Maxter) and Massimo Dante (CKR-Tm). The fight for the positions immediately behind was won by Massimo Mazzali (Jesolo-Tm), who placed fourth, then Massimo Aceto (GP-Tm), Jordon Lennox-Lamb (CRG-Maxter) and Luca Tilloca (Kalì Kart-Tm).

fabian federer crg
Above: Fabian Federer (I), KZ2 winner


In KF2 CRG dominated once again thanks to Felice Tiene, on CRG-Bmb. The combination swept the board in the category throughout the whole weekend, winning the final with a good lead over his rivals. The English champion Tom Joyner, on LH-Bmb, was the runner-up, while third place was the Belgian Sami Luka (FA-Tm).

The following positions were occupied by Alessio Costantini (Spirit-Bmb), the Swede Robin Hansson (Tony Kart-Vortex) and Marco Moretti (Kosmic-Tm). The KF3 champion, the French Charles Leclerc (Art Grand Prix-Parilla), had to be content with the 7th position; he preceded another kart champion Antonio Giovinazzi(Tony kart-Vortex).

Above: Felice Tiene (I), KF2 winner


In KF3, the Croatian Martin Kodric, on FA Alonso-Vortex, won after a gripping duel with the Canadian Lance Stroll (Zanardi-Parilla). Third on the podium was Spanish driver Alex Palou (CRG-Bmb), who did well in the race and he even managed to lead it during the first laps. The other protagonists who classified after the third position are the Russian Nikita Sitnikov (Tony Kart-Bmb), Alessio Lorandi (Tony Kart-Vortex), Davide De Marco (Tony Kart-Bmb), the English George Russel (Intrepid-Tm), the French Dorian Boccolacci (Intrepid-Tm) and Luca Corberi (Tony Kart-Vortex).

kodric fa alonso kart kf3
Above: Martin Kodric, KF3 winner

60 Mini

In the 60 Mini the American Logan Sargeant (Tony Kart-Lke) won both the final and the pre-final ahead of Christian Cobellini (Top Kart-Parilla) and Simone Mazzotti (Parolin-Lke).

Above: Logan Sargeant, 60cc Mini winner

  • A huge gallery of images from the event is HERE
  • Full results of the event are HERE



© kartsportnews.com