arrow x2

Australian Karting’s 24-Hour Endurance Spectacular Only 1 Week Away

press release

On the same weekend that teams race against the clock for 24 hours at the world famous Le Mans 24-hour, Coates Hire are proud to present the ProKart Australian Championship 24-hour Endurance Spectacular.

Competitors from each of the Track Safety International ProKart Endurance Kart Championships across Australia will converge to contest their own 24 hour race, widely considered the most grueling event on the Australian Karting calendar.

The Coates Hire ProKart 24 Hour will be particularly gruelling and arduous as it is being held at Oakburn Park Raceway, home of the Tamworth Kart Club. With forecasted minimums close to freezing the event is sure to test even the most prepared of competitors and karts and associated equipment will be pushed to the boundaries of performance across 24 hours of non-stop racing.  

This year’s event is proudly supported by Coates Hire, Liberty Fuels, AC Delco Cordless Tools and Track Safety International and aside from challenging for outright victory teams will also be eligible for the AC Delco Cordless Tools "Hard Charger” award. This award recognises any team who stages a major ‘comeback’ in the event and for the 24-hour this award is assessed based on a team’s finishing position relative to the race order at the 6-hour mark. The team who makes the most progress against their position at the 6-hour mark will win a quality prize provided by AC Delco Cordless Tools.

With all ProKart Endurance events but particularly with the 24-hour, strategy can often change the race and with variables including driver changes, refueling and safety cars, it is likely teams will be faced with a variety of conditions and weather to further complicate the challenge of winning Australia’s only 24 hour Motorsport event.
With the race being held a little over a week away from now on Sunday 10th and Monday 11th June, teams are frantically undertaking their final checks to ensure that their machinery is meticulously prepared to ensure reliability across the full 24 hours.

ProKart already hold 23 entries for the event and with most teams comprising at least 5 and often more drivers, it is likely that over 100 individual karters will tackle the toughest Endurance Karting event in Australia.

In the past, the key to success in this event was a solid driver line-up, sound strategy and arguably most importantly; strong reliability. This has not been the case over the past 3 years however with the race essentially running at full-speed from start to finish.

Last year’s Australian and New South Wales champions KW Racing are changing their name for this event as a tribute to their co-manager Alan Denyer, who passed away recently and who was an integral part of the ProKart Endurance Series.  For many years Alan ran his own team; “Adrenalin Rush Karting”, using his own race number 98 as one of the team’s competition numbers. In memory of Alan the team from KW Racing will race under the name “Adrenalin Rush Karting”, using his beloved #98. ProKart will permanently retire the number immediately after this event as a lasting tribute to Alan. 

Whilst they’re undoubtedly the sentimental favourites there will be no shortage of teams trying to beat them to victory. Last year’s winners YBE Racing won’t be there to defend their title this year, however there are a number of teams ready to win including Starkey Motorsport, Barra Motorsport, Kartatak Racing, Team Astra, Raleigh Raceway, AC Delco Power Tools Racing, RPM24, Team Kaizen, Nexus Force KnK, Phantom Racing, MF-Tech Racing and KnK Tigers among many more.

This race has significant championship implications for many teams as it comprises Round 2 of the Australian Championship and Round 4 of the Queensland series; marking the half-way point of both.

With both championships finding a number of teams in contention, it is likely this event will go a long way towards determine who will ultimately succeed in taking both the Queensland and Australian ProKart Endurance Championship in 2012.