kartsportnews.com kart racing website

arrow x2

Champions Crowned In The Top End

from karting.net.au

The finals have been completed at the 2012 Northern Territory Championships at the Hidden Valley Karting Raceway in Darwin.

South Australian Luke Marquis won two titles (Junior Clubman and National Heavy) throughout the day to take his career tally to four while Pierce Lehane snared the Clubman Light during his first race in the highly-competitive category.

Lismore youngster Nathan Herne won the Cadets title ahead of Jack Doohan in a nail-bighting affair, just as exciting was the Junior National Light championship final where Wiliam Hawkes proved superior.

Above: Luke Marquis won two championships in Darwin today
pic - AF Images

The full results have been updated on the Australian Karting Association’s Results system that can be viewed by clicking here.

Hidden Valley, NT
June 30/July 1

RESULTS: Final (Top Five)
*all results are provisional

Junior Rotax
1. Jordan Murphy (SA)
2. Mitchell Gee (QLD)
3. Andrew Kahl (NSW)
4. Tyler Morrison (SA)
5. Jake Klein (SA)
Race Notes: As he has all weekend in the Junior Rotax category, Andrew Kahl took advantage of his pole position to lead the field into turn on. When Mitchell Gee passed Kahl on lap two, the New South Wales driver went from first to ninth. The lead was then assumed by Jordan Murphy. Despite some heavy pressure from Gee during the latter stages of the 16-lap final, Murphy held on for the win.

Clubman Super Heavy
1. Scott Simpson (QLD)
2. Ben McKinlay (QLD)
3. Anthony Higgs (WA)
4. Lee Foster (WA)
5. Hayden Dodman
Race Notes: FA Kart team-mates Scott Simpson and Ben McKinlay showed the field a clean pair of heels during the early running of the Clubman Super Heavy. Behind them, three-time Australian champion Anthony Higgs charged his way towards the front and was in third place by half race distance. McKinlay shadowed Simpson for the majority of the race but was unable to stop Simpson from claiming the 22nd State Championship of his illustrious career.

Senior National
1. Matthew Waters (NSW)
2. Aaron Borg (NSW)
3. Nicholas Ellen (VIC)
4. James French (WA)
5. Jordan Hounsfield (WA)
Race Notes: Three-time Senior National Australian Champion Matthew Waters made a break early in the running of the 16-lap final to lead Aaron Borg and Nicholas Ellen. While Waters drove off into the distance the battles behind him were intense with Borg claiming the runner-up placing ahead of Ellen. Fourth went to James French ahead of Jordan Hounsfield.

Junior Clubman
1. Luke Marquis (SA)
2. Dimitri Agathos (NSW)
3. Mitchell Gee (QLD)
4. Lachlan McHugh (QLD)
5. Jake Coleman (NSW)
Race Notes: South Australian Luke Marquis was simply dominant in the Junior Clubman final. As Marquis cruised to claim the third state championship of his flourishing career Kosmic Racing NSW driver Dimitri Agathos showed some good speed to secure second position while a last corner pass enabled Mitchell Gee to snare third place from Lachlan McHugh.

Clubman Over 40s
1. Shane Leahy (QLD)
2. Darren Chilton (NT)
3. Wayne Gough (WA)
4. Adam Bourke (VIC)
5. Julian Laws (QLD)
Race Notes: Queenslander Shane Leahy was simply unstoppable on his way to victory in the Clubman Over 40s category. The Arrow Karts driver led home Northern Territory’s Darren Chilton while Kalgoorlie driver Wayne Gough finished third.

Leopard Heavy
1. Matthew Wall (VIC)
2. Brendan Nelson (QLD)
3. Bradley Fitch (WA)
4. Kris Walton (QLD)
5. Jason Hryniuk (NSW)
Race Notes: Ten-time Australian Champion Matthew Wall used all of his experience to dominate the Leopard Heavy final. Behind the Arrow Karts driver there was an intense battle between Wall’s Arrow Karts stable-mate Brendan Nelson, Kommitted Motorsport’s Brad Fitch, Queenslander Kris Walton and New South Wales driver Jason Hryniuk. Nelson got the better of that battle to make it an Arrow Karts one-two in their new X2 chassis.

Junior National Heavy
1. Luke Marquis (SA)
2. James Allen (WA)
3. Damon Strongman (VIC)
4. Nicholas Rowe (WA)
5. Zachary Phillips (VIC)
Race Notes: After winning the Junior Clubman title earlier in the day Luke Marquis was high in confidence entering the Junior National Heavy final. The South Australian led the early running and was then able to open a commanding lead when Nicholas Rowe and James Allen battled for the minor positions. Marquis crossed the line well clear of Allen while Damon Strongman had a lonely race on his way to third. Rowe recovered from the ground lost during the early battle to claim fourth.

1. Nathan Herne (NSW)
2. Jack Doohan (QLD)
3. Harrison Hoey (QLD)
4. Joel Jamieson (QLD)
5. Aaron Love (WA)
Race Notes: Queenslander Jack Doohan led the early running of the 16-lap final in the Cadets category but by mid race Jordyn Sinni moved his way into the race lead. While battling for the lead Sinni ran wide and hit the tyre barriers which allowed Nathan Herne to take over the race lead. As the race continued it became a three-way battle for the lead between Herne, Doohan and Harrison Hoey. In the end it was Herne who held on for the narrowest of victories.

Above: Lismore youngster Nathan Herne was victorious in the Cadets category
pic - AF Images

Clubman Heavy
1. Shay Mayes (QLD)
2. Matthew Wall (VIC)
3. Kris Walton (QLD)
4. Trent Rogers (NSW)
Race Notes: There was action of plenty in the Clubman Heavy final with multiple-time national champions Matthew Wall, Jason Hryniuk and Kip Foster being joined at the front of the field by Kris Walton, Adam Levi and Brendan Nelson. The latter’s race was over in a lap one incident while Levi and Hryniuk came together on lap three dropping them both well down the order. This left the trio of Walton, Wall and Foster to battle it out. When Walton climbed onto the back of Wall’s kart it allowed Foster a race winning lead. Further drama was to come post race when Foster went underweight, handing the win to Mayes.

1. Brock Kenny (WA)
2. Kasey Fullwood (NT)
3. Sam Dicker (WA)
4. Thomas Bennett (VIC)
5. Samuel Boley (WA)
Race Notes: Victorian Cooper Murray had been the pacesetter all weekend in the Rookies category and in the final he was joined in a two-way battle for the lead by Brock Kenny. The pair battled for the lead before Kenny took over the front running with four laps remaining. Kenny held strong to claim the win while a last lap attempt by Murray ended in the dirt allowing local driver Kasey Fullwood to claim second place.

Leopard Light
1. Ben Stewart (QLD)
2. Adam Garnaut (WA)
3. Pierce Lehane (NSW)
4. Nathan Davis (WA)
5. Ryan Sherman (WA)
Race Notes: KTEQ Rentals driver Ben Stewart led the entire distance of the Leopard Light final to claim the win while Adam Garnaut benefited from Pierce Lehane getting baulked by lapped traffic to cross the line in second place.

Junior National Light
1. William Hawkes (VIC)
2. Nikola Mitic (WA)
3. Damon Strogman (VIC)
4. Brodie Green (NT)
5. Tyler Morrison (SA)
Race Notes: Victorian William Hawkes led the early running of the Junior National Light final ahead of Luke Marquis, who was aiming to claim his third win of the day. The pair exchanged the lead late in the race before Marquis spun on the final lap allowing Hawkes to secure the win. Nikola Mitic crossed the line second.

Above: CRG driver Pierce Lehane was victorious on debut in the Clubman Light category
pic - AF Images


Clubman Light
1. Pierce Lehane (NSW)
2. Matthew Waters (NSW)
3. Anthony Martin (WA)
4. Luke Flynn (QLD)
5. Jordan Ford (VIC)
Race Notes: There was no stopping Pierce Lehane on his way to victory in the Clubman Light category. The CRG driver left all of the carnage behind him in the 16-lap final to claim a dominant victory. Matthew Waters crossed the line second ahead of Anthony Martin, however, there is likely to be more to be discussed following some post race stewards hearings.




© kartsportnews.com