Zuj Aims For 4th Consecutive Clubman Cup

press release

Launceston karter Nathan Zuj will be attempting to win his 4th consecutive Clubman Cup this weekend in one of Tasmanian’s most prestige’s events, the 2012 Auto Addiction Clubman Cup at Archerville Kartway.

The Clubman Cup has been an annual event held at the Launceston Kart Club since 1997, with feature races for Clubman Light (140kg) , Clubman Heavy (160kg), Over 40 Clubman Pro and Junior Clubman.

Above: Nathan Zuj (right) will be wanting to get his hands on the Clubman Cup, under the care of event sponsor, Auto Addiction's Adrian Harper.

Eighty plus entries have been received for the meeting with 45 drivers to compete in the feature classes. Support classes include Cadets, Rookies, Junior national, TAG, TAG Restricted and Over 40 National.

Zuj will have to beat a fine field of competitors to claim an unprecedented 4th victory, with Devonport’s Brody Appleby, Shane Bray, Launceston trio Alastair Lee, Dillon Van Galen and Callum Mitchell and Hobart pair Luke Sapwell and Evan Livingston all able to take the win in what should be a great battle.

In Clubman Heavy a field of 18 drivers have nominated and victory could go to any one of 10 drivers. Leading the way will be Launceston’s Troy Stone, however Stone will have to be at his very best to hold out currant state title holder Zane Wyatt also from Launceston and defending Clubman Cup winner Mitchel Evans from Hobart. Other drivers that are in contention will be Launceston’s, Jamie Bricknell, Steven Wrigley, Kyle Young, Aiden Shelton and Hobart duo jeffrey Dickson and Trent Palmer.

As a special treat for spectators a 20 lap Clubman 'Pro' race will take place at the end of the day with all clubman drivers able to enter running the mid-weight of 150kg. A random draw for grid spots will take place at the lunch break and this race should be a cracker with many heavy drivers keen to take on Nathan Zuj for bragging rights as the best clubby driver in the state.

Racing start at 8am Sunday with a presentation following the last race.


© kartsportnews.com