arrow x2

NSW Yamaha Junior Pro Clubman Series Final

  22 November 2012

press release

“Why go slower when you can go faster”

Combine District Lithgow Kart Club kindly hosted the 5th and final round of the NSW Yamaha Junior Pro Clubman Series on the 11th November 2012.  With Lithgow’s popular split class format, the 15 entrants enjoyed a quick turn around with only six other classes running on the day.  The weather was glorious and sunny with a top of 23 deg.  

Even though it was the last round 5, drivers showed up for the first time to the series, Anthony Colombria, Harry Hayek, Anthony Gamauf, Matthew Giuntini and Alex Attard all conducting themselves very well amongst the seasoned campaigners. In conclusion the series had 28 drivers swap their J’s to sample Junior Clubman racing at its best. Of the 15 starters in the last round Reagan Angel and Damon Schofield made the long track from Newcastle while Dylan Shepherd represented the country making the track from Orange. The notable driver missing from the line up was 4th Round winner Brodie Tilbrook. Brodie unfortunately sustained a leg injury during the school sports carnival only a few days prior.

Above: 2012 NSW Junior Pro Clubman Series Final Round Lithgow
  Rear L to R: Matthew Giuntini, Jake Gleeson, Anthony Gamauf, Anthony Colombrita, Reagan Angel, Reece Davidson, Dylan Shepherd, Alex Attard.
Front L to R Scott Harris, Lachlan Gibbons, Dimitri Agathos, Chris Sandrone, Harry Hayek, Nicholas Becker.
Missing from picture Damon Schofield
pic -

The 5 min qualifying saw Chris Sandrone score his first pole for the JC series just piping Lachlan Gibbons by 0.096 sec. The second row was occupied by series leader Dimitri Agathos 3rd and Reagan Angel 4th. Jake Gleeson was the stand out in qualifying with a very respectable 5th. 
Heat 1:  Lachlan Gibbons won the start from Chris Sandrone and held the lead for the first four laps before being over hauled by Dimitri Agathos. Reagan Angel worked his way from 4th to 2nd by lap nine leaving Gibbons in 3rd. Damon Schofield drove a great race to work his way up to 4th leaving Chris Sandrone with 5th followed by Jake Gleeson 6th. 

Heat 2: Gibbons again was off to a great start followed by Angel, Sandrone, Schofield and Agathos back in 5th. Gibbons held the lead right up until the final lap while Agathos slowly worked his way up into 2nd leaving Angel and Sandrone trading places in 3rd and 4th.

Coming around the final turn the Kosmic pair (Gibbons and Agathos) locked karts piggy backing each other over the line. This left Sandrone prematurely celebrating the win only to look right and see Angel powering up the inside to take the win by .035 sec with Schofield in 3rd, Gibbons in 4th and Agathos in 5th. 6th home was Dylan Shepherd after starting from 11th.  At the weight scales shed it was moment to treasure seeing all the boys laughing about what had occurred on the final lap. 

Prefinal: Angel was of pole sharing the front row with Agathos, Sandrone of 3rd, Gibbons 4th, Schofield and Anthony Colombrita completing the 3rd row. Angel quickly took command of the race to lead from start to finish while Gibbons tussled with Agathos for 3 laps before leaving Sandrone and Agathos to fight it out for third until Agathos suffered mechanical issues on lap 7. This left Sandrone to complete the top 3, followed by Davidson 4th, Schofield 5th and Shepherd 6th.  Davidson started the prefinal in 9th and Shepherd 14th both showing good race pace in readiness for the final.

Above: Start of the final. The last race for many in Juniors before trading white plates for yellow.
pic -   

Final: Angel starting from pole lead from start to finish in a polished performance. Reagan was the most constant driver of the series and finished his junior career on the top step.
Davidson starting 4th working his way up to 3rd on lap 7 at the expense of Sandrone, then a lap later Davidson moved to 2nd at the expense of Gibbons. Davidson closed on the leader Angel only to run out of laps and had to settle for 2nd. Gibbons consolidated 3rd with Sandrone 4th, local hero Scott Harris rounded out the top 5. The hard luck story of the day was Dylan Shepherd. Dylan’s kart lost a wheel whilst chasing down the leaders on lap 8 whilst in 4th.

With the completion of the series the series trophies where awarded with the best rounds counting towards the championship.

NSW “Yamaha” Junior Pro Champion is Dimitri Agathos on 329 pts. 2nd Reagan Angel 300 pts, 3rd Brodie Tilbrook 261pts, 4th Chris Sandrone 249 pts and 5th Lachlan Gibbons  248 pts.

Many of the drivers now swap the white plate to yellow moving to seniors. It was an honour to organise a series for such great kids.     

Thank you to the following 2012 sponsors:
Series sponsors: Yamaha, Superior Rubber Aust, Box All Smash Repairs.
Round 1 & 3 Sponsors: Kart 1 Superstore.
Round 2 & 4 Sponsors: Karting World.
Round 5 Sponsors: Stones Kartsport.
Other Sponsors. Top Gun Racing Academy, Pam’s Pix & Quick Pixels.     

Special Thanks to Pam Matthews for the Driver framed photo’s given out at the last round.
Anyone interested in joining the series in 2013 please contact Dennis Sandrone email   Mobile 04093300255