arrow x2

UK Super One Series Prize Giving

  17 January 2013

press release

Hundreds of Super One Series competitors congregated at the Autosport International Racing Car Show at the NEC, Birmingham for the annual awards ceremony on Saturday 11 January.

Because of the large numbers the prize giving is split into two sessions, the first was for the Rotax and Honda Cadet categories with the trophies handed over by Emmerdale’s Kelvin Fletcher, who plays Andy Sugden in the popular series, with JAG’s George Robinson in attendance.  And Sahara Force India Formula 1 driver Paul Di Resta handed over the silverware in the MSA British Championships assisted by Rob Jones General Secretary of the MSA, the KGP and Comer Cadet classes, and by Grahame Butterworth of Tal-Ko for the TKM classes.

KF3 - Alex Gill, Rob Jones and Paul Di Resta
Above: KF3 - Alex Gill, Rob Jones and Paul Di Resta
pic -

All seeded drivers received a cheque or voucher and a medal for their position in the championship, the total amounting to over £60,000.  Rotax rookie winners were all given a new Rotax engine, as well as all the rookies receiving an invitation to Mercedes GP factory for a VIP tour. Nicky Grist was on hand to award the Stilo Golden Helmet award to the Super One MiniMax driver Connor Mills, and also launched the new carbon fibre ST4 CMR Karting helmet. KF3 British Champion received a place on a course at the McLaren Human Performance Academy in a new association with the Super One Series. All seeded drivers were able to claim two free tickets to the Autosport Show, thanks to the partnership with Haymarket. Another partnership between the official fuel supplier WP Motorsport and Mobil 1 was on display after WP was awarded a further 5 year contract as the official fuel supplier to the series.  There was a chance to win a VIP trip to the Vodaphone McLaren Mercedes pre-season test in Barcelona. Promoter John Hoyle welcomed the news that Edgar’s Hyundai had renewed their title sponsorship for 2013.

And the karting Mum’s were not forgotten either with Denise Gill, mother of the MSA Junior British Karting Champion Alex, winning the dedicated Mums Award for a nights stay and Spa day for two at the Leeds Hilton. Promoter John Hoyle quipped that Denise is said to always be the first to collect the tyres on a Saturday morning at 7 am.

Kelvin Fletcher, Sean Babbington and George Robinson
Above: MAX - Kelvin Fletcher, Sean Babbington and George Robinson
pic -

The top three in each class enjoyed more time in the limelight with a repeat podium ceremony at the annual dinner later in the evening with almost 300 guests enjoying a night of fine food, wine and dancing at the Hilton Coventry Hotel.  Thanks go to the dinner-dance sponsors Edgar’s Hyundai, AST Signs, WP Motorsport, Tillotson and Goodwin Coaches. Motor Sports Association director Rod Parkin handed over the MSA British Championship trophies, and on behalf of the Association of British Kart Clubs National Championships, their chairman Russell Anderson did the honours for the Cadets, Grahame Butterworth for the TKM Classes and Supervisor Sales & Marketing of Rotax Kart Engines, Helmut Vogslam for the Rotax classes. Helmut Vogslam had flown over from Austria especially for the event, following the Super One drivers amazing success in the Max Challenge Grand Finals in Portugal. The ABkC is responsible for arranging £22,000 towards the prize fund from their tyre contracts, thanks to support from JAG Rotax, Anderson CSK and Dunlop, Tal-Ko and Maxxis, and Zipkart and Bridgestone.

Helmut Vogslam (Rotax) and John Hoyle
Above: Helmut Vogslam and John Hoyle
pic -

Promoter John Hoyle said: “I am delighted by the response, which is a product of the hard work by our team, and the support of the 477 individual drivers who chose to race with us in 2012.  Now we look forward to an even bigger and better championship series this year, an exciting future with some more of our drivers undoubtedly on their way to Formula 1 or careers in professional motorsport.”

By popular acclaim the awards and dinner were said to be the best ever, with many of the competitors looking forward to another season in Britain’s most prestigious kart championships. Those who did not take the opportunity to register for the 2013 season can still do so online at .

Nicky Grist
Above: Nicky Grist
pic -

S1 Comer Ennam Ahmed and Russll Anderson
Above: S1 Comer Ennam Ahmed and Russll Anderson
pic -

S1 Honda - Luke Wooder and Kelvin Fletcher
Above: S1 Honda - Luke Wooder and Kelvin Fletcher
pic -

Ben Barnicoat with Paul Di Resta
Above: S1KF2 - Ben Barnicoat with Paul Di Resta
pic -