kartsportnews promo banner

2016 Whitsunday Titles

from Dave Sturgeon 26 October 2016

The R & T Pumps Whitsunday Titles at Mackay's Keilbach Park Raceway has been run and won for another year. Numbers were a little down on previous years, but the racing was fast and tight in most of the classes.

The Club was happy to have Mayor Greg Williamson along to officially open the meeting and wave the Australian flag to get qualifying underway.

Above: The Mayor, Greg Williamson, opens qualifying at Mackay's Whitsunday Titles. (pic - DS)

The Cadet 12 class was the largest on the day and proved to be the most hotly contested. An unfortunate roll over in the first heat race meant two drivers were unable to continue for the remainder of the meeting, but were both ok and will be back to race at the club’s next race meeting.

Eventual winner Max Deguara has been doing a lot of racing this year, which showed in his commanding driving style. He made it a clean sweep winning each of the heats, pre-final and the final. He was followed home by Dylan LeGarde and Blayd Stephens, all local Mackay drivers.

Above: The remaining Cadet 12 drivers take a start, Max Deguara (33), ahead of Blayd Stepens (38), Dylan Le Garde (99), Cameron Vassallo (2), Cruise Mason (18) and Troy Coley (27). (pic - DS)

The KA3 Senior Light class was also one to watch, with Declan Fraser continuing his winning ways. He had been down on the Gold Coast two weeks ago at the Stars of Karting meeting which was run in conjunction with the Gold Coast Supercars event, bringing home a surf board for his win there. The rest of the drivers in this class were all very close and all had the opportunity to place.

Young local driver Hayden Vassallo was probably the unluckiest driver, losing a chain in the final. Prior to this he was right in the mix, but this unfortunate mechanical issue ended his chances of taking home a trophy. Townsville driver Kirsten Ing took home 2nd with local Jordan McCloy coming home 3rd.

Above: KA3 Senior Light front runners, Declan Fraser (23), Kirsten Ing (61) and Hayden Vassallo (2) charge for the first turn. (pic - DS)

The Club’s next race meeting is on Saturday 12 November. This will be a twilight meeting with racing starting at 3pm and running into the cool of the night.


KA3 Senior Light: 1 Declan Fraser, 2 Kirsten Ing, 3 Jordan McCloy
KA3 Senior Heavy: 1 Steve Muscat, 2 Peter Hill, 3 Bradley Mann
KA4 Junior Light: 1 Riley Le Garde, 2 Jayden Muir, 3 Tristan Lambert
Cadet 12: 1 Max DeGuara, 2 Dylan Le Garde, 3 Blayd Stephens
Cadet 9: 1 Drew DeGuara, 2 Ryan Gibson, 3 Assunta Attard
TaG Heavy: 1 Peter Buchbach, 2 Brett Thorn, 3 Douglas Penningh
TaG Light: 1 Lincon Baker, 2 Lucas Ward
TaG Restricted Light: 1 Jason Vanderlinden, 2 Lachlan Christie, 3 Benjamin King (Heavy: 1st David Kent)