Young Guns Kick Off Tassie Karting Season

press release 11 January 2017

The time honoured McDonalds Young Guns will mark the start of the 2017 Tasmanian karting season at the Launceston Kart Club this Saturday.

The Young Guns has been run for the past 20 years and the winner's list is a Who's Who of Tasmanian karting.

Above: The start of last years Young’s Guns race (pic - Angryman Photography)

McDonalds has been the major sponsor of the meeting for the entire 20 years and club president Stuart Lee said without the continued support of McDonalds, the Young Guns meeting would not be what it is today.

Defending Champion Tate Frost heads the list of drivers and, going on past performances, looks very hard to beat. If successful, Frost will be the sixth driver to go back to back.

Above: Tate Frost (pic - Angryman Photography)

Other names to be in contention for the win will be AWC Motorsport Academy drivers Fletcher Bellars and Lochie Dalton along with Hobart pair Evan Chivers and Jesse Keeling, Smithton’s Logan Dixon, Devonport’s Ethan Wyllie and a couple of Launceston Kart Club members in Tyson Phegan and  William Reeve, whilst Chad Gardner  will be making his Young Guns debut.

Also on the programme are the awesome Super 200 Twins and KZ Shifter karts plus a full support card of Cadet 12, KA4 Masters, KA3 Senior, TaG Restricted and TaG Open.

Above: Evan Chivers (10) and Willaim Reeve (12) (pic - Angryman Photography)

As a special treat the Vintage karts will also be having a few demonstration runs during the day to show what karting was like ”back in the day”.

Racing starts at noon on Saturday with the finals run in the twilight. Spectators are free with full canteen facilities available.

Above: Tyson Phegan (pic - Angryman Photography)

McDonald's Young Guns - Previous Winners

1998 Mitchell Russell
1999 Mitchell Russell
2000 Tom George
2001 Mathew Holmes
2002 Aiden Shelton
2003 Aiden Shelton
2004 Daimon Shelton
2005 Daimon Shelton
2006 Jackson Evans
2007 Josh Burdon
2008 Danton Evans
2009 Danton Evans
2010 Callum Zizek
2011 Kelsey Sapwell
2012 Gemma Wyllie
2013 Brodie Evans
2014 Zevie Eisentraut
2015 Zevie Eisentraut & Jackson Callow
2016 Tate Frost



kartsportnews promo banner