Kiwis Prepare For Their Easter Nationals

  28 February 2017

Kartsport New Zealand's Development and Administration Manager, Robert Hutton, has advised KartSportNews that certain Karting Australia licence holders are eligible to contest the NZ Nationals.

"Entry is open to all KA Licenced drivers on a Trans Tasman Visa who have a KA rated A or B Competition Licence" he said. "So far we are aware that Lane Moore is coming, and with nothing much on over Easter in Australia, we hope for more!"


press release


KartSport Southland and KartSport New Zealand are delighted to announce Sievwright - Blasting Panel Paint as the naming rights partner for the 2017 KartSport New Zealand National Sprint Championships meeting to be contested at the Invercargill Oil Shop Raceway at Invercargill's Sandy Point between 14-16 April (Easter weekend).

Above: Australia's Lane Moore (#5) won a National title the last time the event was held at Invercargill in 2011 (pic - Fast Company/KartSport NZ file)

Invercargill-based Sievwright - Blasting Panel Paint is an experienced auto industry leader, supplying abrasive blasting, panel beating and paint services. The company has particular expertise in heavy haulage and farm equipment including fibreglass work and light engineering. Their motto is: “We get the job done!”

Company owner John Sievwright says he enjoys all motorsport and was happy to help when approached by the KartSport Southland club.

"As  a supporter of stock cars, motorbikes and car racing at Sandy Point the karts were really just the next step. My business is in Southland so I like to get behind the people and clubs here.

"I enjoy going to the events too so I am definitely looking forward to seeing the country's top karters in action here at Easter."

Above: Marcus Armstrong (#9) was a winner in 2011 (pic - Fast Company/KartSport NZ file)

The KartSport Southland club regularly bids for major national meetings and has hosted the annual Sprint Nationals meeting at Easter twice in the past 12 years (2005 & 2011).

In that time the sport has nurtured the fledgling careers of New Zealand's current crop of world-beating drivers.


Included are the winner of the Junior Restricted title at the 2005 Invercargill event, Mitch Evans, now a works-driver for the Jaguar Formula E team, and the winner of the Cadet class title in Invercargill in 2011, recent Ferrari Academy signing, Marcus Armstrong.

This year's event will see 10 separate class titles contested, including - for the first time - one for the Rotax DD2 class. The racing on Saturday and Sunday will be livestreamed with the support of the Giltrap Group..

Spectators are welcome with action on the track each day between 9.00am and 4.30pm. For more information go to

Above: Auckland's Daniel Kinsman (#NI) (pic - Fast Company/KartSport NZ file)




kartsportnews promo banner